

TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Gross Receipts Tax Return - Gas, Water, Electric Power, & Light Companies

GRO 209

Taxable Period	Account No.	SSN
Beginning: Ending:	Due Date	OR FEIN

FEIN						
	Rep	orting		od Year		
Beginning:		/	/			
Ending:		/	/			
Please indicate the annual or monthly reporting period If this is an AMENDED RETURN, please check the box at right						
An		ount sh EPART son Sta	own or MENT ate Off	n Line 16 OFREVI ice Buildi	6 and ma E NUE ing	

ROUNDTONEARESTDOLLAR

	Gross Receipts Tax on Gas Distribution		
1.	Gross receipts from gas distribution in Tennessee	(1)	_
2.	Tax (% of Line 1)	(2)	_
3.	Gross Receipts Tax on Water/Electricity Distribution Gross receipts from water/electricity distribution in Tennessee	(3)	_
4.	Less: Exemption (\$5,000 maximum)	(4)00	_
5.	Gross receipts subject to tax (Line 3 less Line 4)	(5)	
	Tax (% of Line 5)	(6)	_
	Computation of Tax Gross receipts tax (From Lines 2 and/or 6)	(7)00	_
8.	Less: Franchise tax credit	(8)	
9.	Less: Excise tax credit	(9)	_
0.	Net tax (Line 7 less Lines 8 and 9)	.00)	_
1.	Less credit amount from previous Department of Revenue notice(s)	.(11)	
2.	Penalty If filed LATE, compute penalty at 5% of the tax (Line 10 minus Line 11) for each 1 to 30 DAY PERIOD for which TAX IS DELINQUENT (Total penalty not to exceed 25%.) Minimum penalty is \$15 regardless of the amount of tax due or whether there is any tax due	(12)	_
3.	Interest (Line 10 minus Line 11 X % per annum on taxes unpaid by the due date)	.00.	_
4.	Total Tax Due (Add Lines 10, 12 and 13, less Line 11 if applicable)	. (14)	_
5.	Installment (¼ of Line 14) (Only timely annual filers have the option to use this line)	. (15)	_
6.	Total Remittance Amount (Line 14 or Line 15)	. (16)	

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY	I declare this is a true, complete, and accurate return to the best of my knowled SIGN HERE President or other Principal Officer, Partner or Proprietor Date
	SIGN HERE Tax Return Preparer and Title Date

209340001

For additional information, contact the Taxpayer Services Division in one of our Department of Revenue Offices:

Chattanooga (423) 634-6266 Suite 203 1301 Riverfront Parkway Lowell Thomas Building

Jackson (731) 423-5747 Suite 340

Johnson City (423) 854-5321 204 High Point Drive Knoxville (865) 594-6100 Suite 300 7175 Strawberry Plains Pike

Memphis (901) 213-1400 3150 Appling Road **Nashville** (615) 253-0600 Andrew Jackson Building 500 Deaderick Street

Tennessee residents can also call our statewide toll free number at 1-800-342-1003. Out-of-state callers must dial (615) 253-0600.

225 Martin Luther King Blvd.

GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

The law governing gas, water, electric power and light companies states that:

- (a) (1) Each person engaged in the business of furnishing or distributing gas, water, or electric current, whether to a dealer, consumer, municipality or other customer, shall, for the privilege of doing such business, pay to the state for state purposes an amount equal to the tax rate specified on the front of the return multiplied by the gross receipts derived from intrastate business in the state.
 - (2) Persons engaged in the business of manufacturing gas or of distributing manufactured gas or natural gas shall, in lieu of the foregoing, pay an amount equal to the tax rate specified on the front of the return multiplied by the gross receipts derived from intrastate business in this state, which payment shall be subject to the same provisions, restrictions and credits hereinafter provided in T.C.A. \$67-4-405.
- (b) This tax does not apply to cities or other political subdivisions of the state owning and operating gas companies, water companies or power plants, nor does it apply to any governmental agency of the United States.
- (c) The gross receipts tax is levied for the privilege of engaging in intrastate commerce carried on wholly within this state and not a part of interstate commerce.
- (d) A credit is allowed against the gross receipts tax for the franchise and excise taxes paid by gas, water, and electric companies during the calendar year in which the gross receipts tax becomes due.
- (e) The tax hereby imposed shall be administered and collected in accordance with T.C.A. §67-4-301 et seq.
- (f) Each person engaged in the business of furnishing or distributing electric current or water shall be exempt from the above tax upon gross receipts up to the amount of five thousand dollars (\$5,000).

DELINOUENT FILING - (PENALTY AND INTEREST)

Unless this return and tax are mailed to the Department of Revenue on or before August 1 or the 10th day of the following month (if filing monthly), penalty & interest will be assessed as required by §67-1-804 T.C.A.

INSTRUCTIONS

- Lines 8 & 9 Total credit cannot exceed line 7. A credit is allowed for franchise and excise taxes paid when final reports of both gross receipts taxes and franchise and excise taxes have been filed covering the corresponding tax base period. Additional instructions for these lines are available upon request.
- Line 15 Taxpayers who file the return and make the first quarterly payment on or before August 1st have the option of paying the balance in three equal additional installments: Nov. 1, Feb. 1, and May 1. However, such quarterly payments made after August 1st shall bear interest on each such payment at the effective rate per annum from August 1 to date of payment. Anyone who elects the above option will receive quarterly installment coupons by a separate mailing.

NOTICE TO TAXPAYER

If quarterly installments are not paid by the due date, penalty will be assessed for late payment at the rate of 5% of the installment for each 30 days (or portion thereof) that the installment remains unpaid subsequent to the due date, up to a maximum of 25%.

This return shall be accompanied by schedule listing of total gross receipts derived from interstate business, intrastate business, sale of appliances, water taps, pole rentals, and other sources fully identified.