Group Term Life Certificate of Insurance

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company
400 Robert Street North « St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-2098

State of Tennessee
Basic Group Term Life Insurance

Effective January 1, 2024

POLICYHOLDER: State of Tennessee

POLICY NUMBER: 34294-G

Read Your Certificate Carefull group policy that affect you. The provisions summarized
# in this certificate are subject in every respect to the group

You are insured under the above numbered group policy. policy. You may examine the group policy at the principal
This certificate summarizes the principal provisions of the office of the policyholder during regular working hours.
Secretary President
TABLE OF CONTENTS
DEfiNItIONS ....eeiiii i 2 TerMINATION ...eeeiiiiiiiiieiee e 4
General INformation ............cccovvieeeiiiiee e 2 Conversion RIGNT..........ocvieiiiiiiee e 4
PremilumsS ....ooiiiii e 3 Additional INformation ............ccccvvveereeeiiiicieee e 5
Death Benefit........cc.uuviiiiiiii e 4

GROUP TERM LIFE CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE

13-31527 Minnesota Life 1
EdF83848 Rev 05-2023



EMPLOYEE CERTIFICATE SPECIFICATIONS PAGE

| GENERAL INFORMATION \

POLICYHOLDER: State of Tennessee POLICY NO.: 34294-G

ORIGINAL EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2014. This specification page represents the plan in effect as of
January 1, 2024.

POLICY ANNIVERSARY DATE: January 1 of each year beginning January 1, 2015.

This certificate and/or certificate specifications page replaces any and all certificates and/or certificate
specifications pages previously issued to you under the group policy. Please replace any certificate and/or
certificate specifications page previously issued to you with this new certificate and/or specifications page.

GROUP: The group is composed of all active employees of the policyholder and its associated

employers working in the United States who meet the following eligibility criteria:
e Any person employed by the employer, who is regularly scheduled to
work at least 30 hours per week; or

e Any person who has received a seasonal appointment and who meets the
requirements set forth in TCA 8-27-204(a)(3); or

e Allother individuals cited in state statute or approved as an exception by the
State Insurance Committee.

NOTE: Individual in positions classified as temporary appointments or performing
services on a contractual basis shall not be considered to be employees unless they
otherwise meet the definition of an eligible employee as defined in the last bullet

noted above.

WAITING PERIOD: Active employees regularly scheduled to work 30 hours a week or more: The
period commencing with the employee’s date of hire and completion of one full
calendar month of employment. *

* For newly hired employees the effective date of coverage will be the first day of the
month following the employee’s hire date and one full calendar month of employment.

Any person who has received a seasonal appointment and who meets the
requirements set forth in TCA 8-27-204(a)(3): The period commencing 24 months
from the employee’s date of hire and ending on the 1st day of the month following the
completion of the 24-month requirement and submission of a completed enrollment
form to the Policyholder. **

**For seasonal employees meeting the requirements stated in TCA 8-27-204(a)(3),
part-time to full-time employees, and emergency appointment to permanent
employment employees; the effective date of coverage will be the first day of the
month following gaining eligibility for coverage and submission of a completed
enrollment form to the Policyholder.

ENROLLMENT PERIOD: Eligible employees will be automatically enrolled by the Policyholder. Central
State Government and State Higher Education employees cannot opt out of
the noncontributory (employer-paid) coverage. State Offline Agency
employees may opt-out of the contributory (employee-paid) coverage.

Enroliment in Different Amount of Benefit Due to an Acquire Event or Loss of
Eligibility for Other Coverage Event

Enrollment in different amount of benefit due to an acquire event or loss of
eligibility event is outside of an initial enrollment or annual enrollment period.

Without regard to the dates or circumstances on which an
individual would otherwise be able to enroll in a chosen amount of benefit, current
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Employees are permitted to enroll in a different amount of benefit if the Employee
experiences one of the events stated in Section A or B below. All amounts of benefit
are subject to the reduction of coverage available due to reaching ages 65 and over.

A. Loss of Eligibility for Other Coverage.

1. An Employee, otherwise eligible to enroll in a specific coverage amount of
benefit may change the amount of benefit enrolled through this provision
provided that they:

a. Are eligible to choose a different amount of benefit subject to plan

maximum and age coverage values; and

b. Experience a loss of eligibility for other group basic term life coverage for

reasons including the following (but not for a failure to pay premiums or

termination for cause):

i. Death;

ii. Divorce;

iii. Legal separation;

iv. Termination of employment (voluntary and non-voluntary);

V. Employer’s discontinuation of contribution to insurance coverage

(total contribution, not partial);

vi. Reduction in number of work hours of employment
2. If an Employee satisfies all two requirements of A.1. above, the Employee is
eligible for enrollment in a different amount of benefit, subject to plan maximums
and age coverage restrictions.
3. All amount of benefit change enrollments due to Loss of Eligibility for Other
Coverage must be submitted to and received by the Employee’s Agency Benefits
Coordinator (ABC)/State of Tennessee Benefits Administration (BA) within sixty (60)
days of the loss of eligibility for other coverage.
4. The effective date of coverage for an amount of benefit change enrollment due to
Loss of Eligibility for Other Coverage shall be the first day of the first calendar month
after the date the Policyholder receives the request for the enrollment change.
5. Substantiation of Loss of Coverage. If requesting amount of benefit change
enrollment based on Loss of Eligibility for Other Coverage, the Employee must submit
appropriate documentation to substantiate that the Employee experienced an event
resulting in the Employee’s loss of eligibility for another group basic term life
insurance plan, and the date of the Employee’s loss of eligibility.

B. Acquire Events

1. When an Employee experiences a marriage, birth, adoption, placement for adoption or
legal guardianship, custody or conservatorship, the Employee may change the amount of
benefit enrollment in the basic term life/basic AD&D program, subject to plan maximums
and age coverage restrictions.
2. All enrollment applications based upon experiencing an acquire event must be submitted
to and received by the Employee’s Agency Benefits Coordinator (ABC)/State of Tennessee
Benefits Administration (BA) within thirty (30) days of the acquisition date.
3. The effective date of the amount of benefit change due to experiencing an acquire event,
shall be the first day of the first calendar month after the date the ABC/BA receives the
request for the amount of benefit change.
4. Substantiation of the Acquire Event. If requesting amount of benefit change based on
experiencing an Acquire Event, the Employee must submit appropriate documentation as
listed on the enrollment application to substantiate the following:

a. The date of birth of a child; or

b. The date of the adoption or the order placing the child in custody for adoption;

c. The date of guardianship, custody or conservatorship specified by the order granting

same; or

d. The date of marriage



| PLAN OF INSURANCE

EMPLOYEE TERM LIFE INSURANCE:

Basic Life Insurance

All Eligible Employees

BASIC LIFE AGE REDUCTIONS:

EMPLOYEE BENEFIT SCHEDULE

Amount of Basic Life Insurance

One times annual base salary rounded to the next higher $1,000 if not already a
multiple thereof, subject to a minimum of $50,000 (unless reduced due to
employee age according to the Basic Life Age Reductions section noted below)
and a maximum of $250,000.

The amount of insurance on an employee shall be a percentage of the amount
otherwise provided by the plan of insurance applicable to such employee in
accordance with the following table:

Age of Employee Amount of Insurance
65 - 69 65%
70 — 74*** 45%
75 and over*** 30%

Age reductions will based upon the employee's 65th, 70th, and 75th birthdays.
For semi-monthly paid employees, the age reductions will be based on the
employee’s age as of the prior pay period end date and will be effective the first
of the next month. For monthly paid employees, the age reductions are based on
the employee’s age at the end of the prior month and will be effective the first
of the next month.

*** These age reductions do not apply to Permaplan Employees. Permaplan
employees reduce to 65% from age 65 and over.

EMPLOYEE ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE:

Basic AD&D Insurance

Eligible Class

All eligible employees

Amount of AD&D Insurance

An amount equal to the amount of basic life insurance for which the employee
is insured under the group policy.

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR EMPLOYEE INSURANCE

EFFECT OF EMPLOYEE’S RETIREMENT:

CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY:
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All State Higher Education and State Offline Agency employees:
All insurance terminates at the end of the month following the month of the
employee’s retirement.

All Central State Government employees:
All insurance terminates at the end of the month of the employee’s retirement.

For all eligible Central State Government and State Higher Education:

Basic Life insurance and Basic AD&D insurance is noncontributory.

For all Offline Agency employees:

Basic Life insurance and Basic AD&D insurance is contributory.



EFFECTIVE DATE OF INCREASES Increases and decreases due to a change in salary will be based upon the

AND DECREASES DUE TO CHANGE employee’s salary as of September 1 of each year or an alternative date

IN ELIGIBLE AGE OR SALARY: established by the Policyholder with the effective date of the recalculated
coverage to be on January 1 of the next calendar year or on an alternative date
established by the Policyholder.

Decreases due to a change in age will be:

1. For semi-monthly paid employees, the age reductions will be based on the
employee’s age as of the prior pay period end date and will be effective the first
of the next month.

2. For monthly paid employees, the age reductions are based on the employee’s
age at the end of the prior month and will be effective the first of the next

month.
| ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
OPT DOWN OPTION: An employee who would otherwise be eligible for an amount of basic
(All employees) insurance in excess of $50,000 may elect to decrease his or her amount of

basic term life and AD&D insurance to $50,000 in lieu of his or her full
amount of basic insurance provided by the schedule of benefits. The employee
may opt during an annual enrollment or acquire event or loss of eligibility for
other coverage event to elect his or her full amount of basic insurance
provided by the schedule of benefits.

OPT OUT OPTION: An employee who would otherwise be eligible for an amount of basic employee

(Offline Agency employees only) paid insurance may elect to opt out of basic life and AD&D insurance in lieu of
his or her basic insurance provided by the schedule of benefits or the Opt Down
Option of $50,000. The employee may opt during an annual enrollment or
acquire event or loss of eligibility for other coverage event to elect his or her full
amount of basic insurance provided by the schedule of benefits or the Opt Down
Option of $50,000.

LOSS OF ELIGIBILITY: All State Higher Education and State Offline Agency employees:
Notwithstanding anything in the policy to the contrary, an insured employee
shall remain covered until the end of the month following the month in which
he or she ceases to meet the eligibility requirements.

All Central State Government employees:

Notwithstanding anything in the policy to the contrary, an insured employee
shall remain covered until the end of the month in which he or she ceases to
meet the eligibility requirements.

WAIVER OF PREMIUM APPLICATION: Applies to employee Basic Life insurance. Does not apply to employee Basic
AD&D insurance.

RIDER(S) TO THE GROUP POLICY

Accidental Death and Dismemberment
Waiver of Premium
Accelerated Benefits
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Definitions

age
Your attained age as of:

(1) For semi-monthly paid employees, the prior pay
period end date and will be effective the first of
the next month.

(2) For semi-monthly paid employees, the end of
the prior month and will be effective the first of
the next month.

application
Your application for insurance under the group policy.
associated employer

Any employer which is designated by the policyholder and
agreed to by us to participate under the group policy. The
policyholder represents any associated employer in all
transactions pertaining to the group policy. The
policyholder’s acts or omissions and every notice given by
us to the policyholder shall be binding on every associated
employer.

contributory insurance

Insurance for which you are required to make premium
contributions.

annual base salary

Your base annual salary is your basic rate of
compensation. It does not include overtime pay,
longevity, and any other types of additional
compensation. Base annual salary will be based upon
the employee’s salary as of September 1 of each year
with the effective date of recalculated coverage to be on
January 1 of the next calendar year.

employee

An individual employed by the State or associated employer
who:

= Any person employed by the employer,
who is regularly scheduled to work at least
30 hours per week; or

= Any person who has received a seasonal
appointment and who meets the requirements
set forth in TCA 8-27-204(a)(3); or

= All other individuals cited in state statute or
approved as an exception by the State
Insurance Committee.

NOTE: Individuals in positions classified as temporary
appointments or performing services on a contractual
basis shall not be considered employees unless they
otherwise meet the definition of an eligible employee as
defined in the last bullet above.
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If you are an eligible employee married to another eligible
employee, then you cannot be insured as a spouse under
the group policy. You can only obtain coverage as an
employee.

employer

The Policyholder or any designated associated employer.
These include Central State Government, State Higher
Education, and State Offline Agencies.

insured

A person who is eligible for and becomes insured
according to the terms of this certificate.

non-work day

A day on which you are not regularly scheduled to work,
including scheduled time off for vacations, personal
holidays, weekends and holidays, and approved leaves of
absence for non-medical reasons.

Non-work day does not include time off for medical leave
of absence, temporary layoff, employer suspension of
operations in total or in part, strike, and any time off due to
sickness or injury including sick days, short-term disability,
or long term disability.

noncontributory insurance

Insurance for which you are not required to make premium
contributions.

policyholder
The State of Tennessee
specifications page

The outline which summarizes your coverage under the
policyholder’s plan of insurance.

waiting period

The period, if any, of continuous employment with the
employer required prior to becoming eligible for coverage
under this certificate. The waiting period is shown on the
specifications page attached to this certificate.

we, our, us

Minnesota Life Insurance Company.

you, your, certificate holder

An insured employee.

General Information
What is your agreement with us?

You are insured under the group policy shown on the
specifications page attached to this certificate. Your
application is deemed a part of this certificate. This
certificate summarizes the principal provisions of the
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group policy that affect your life insurance
coverage. The provisions summarized in this
certificate are subjectin every respect to the group

policy.

Any statements made in your application will, in the
absence of fraud, be considered representations and not
warranties.

Also, any statement made will not be used to void your
insurance nor defend against a claim unless the statement
is contained in the application.

This certificate is issued in consideration of your
application and the payment of the required premium.

Can this certificate be amended?

Yes. We retain the right to amend this certificate at any
time without your consent. Any amendment will be
without prejudice to any claim incurred for benefits prior to
the date of the amendment.

Who is eligible for insurance?
You are eligible if you:

(1) are a member of the group and of an eligible class
as defined in the specifications page; and

(2) have satisfied the waiting period as shown on the
specifications page attached to this certificate;
and

(3) meetthe actively at work requirement as shown in
the section entitled “What is the actively at work
requirement?”.

Are retired employees eligible for insurance?

No. A retired employee is not eligible for insurance under
the group policy.

What is the actively at work requirement?

To be eligible to become insured or to receive an increase
in the amount of insurance, you must be actively at work,
fully performing your customary duties for your regularly
scheduled number of hours at the employer’s normal
place of business, or at other places the employer’'s
business requires you to travel.

If you are not actively at work on the date coverage would
otherwise begin, or on the date an increase in your
amount of insurance would otherwise be effective, you will
not be eligible for the coverage or increase until you return
to active work. However, if the absence is on a non-work
day, coverage will not be delayed provided you were
actively at work on the work day immediately preceding
the non-work day.

Except as otherwise provided for in this certificate, you are

eligible to continue to be insured only while you remain
actively at work.

13-31555 Rev 7-2018

When does insurance become effective?
Newly Eligible Employee — Employee Coverage

If enrolled within 30 days of first becoming eligible,
coverage will become effective on the first day of the
month next following completion of one full calendar
month of eligible employment, provided you are actively at
work on the date your application is signed and on the
date the coverage is to become effective.

If not actively at work on both of the above mentioned
dates, coverage will not become effective until the first day
of the month following your return to active work.

The actively at work requirements also apply when your
amount of coverage is being increased or when you are
adding coverage.

In addition, elections made during an annual enroliment
period will not become effective prior to the effective date
of that enrollment (generally the following January 1).

Can your coverage be continued during sickness,
injury, leave of absence or temporary layoff?

Yes. The employer may continue your honcontributory
insurance or allow you to continue our contributory
insurance when you are absent from work due to
sickness, injury, leave of absence, or temporary layoff.

Continuation of your insurance is subject to certain time
limits and conditions as stated in the group policy. If you
stop active work for any reason, you should discuss with
the employer what arrangements may be made to
continue your insurance.

Premiums

When and how often are your premium contributions
due?

Unless the policyholder and we have agreed to some
other premium payment procedure, any premium
contributions you are required to make for contributory
insurance are to be paid by you to the policyholder on a
monthly basis. We apply premiums consecutively to keep
the insurance in force.

Can apremium be paid after the date it is due?

Yes. The group policy has a 31-day grace period. If a
premium is not paid on or before the date it is due, that
premium may be paid during the 31-day period following
the due date. The insurance under the group policy will
remain in effect during the 31-day grace period.

Minnesota Life 7
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Death Benefit

.|
What is the amount of the death benefit?

The amount of the death benefit is the amount of
insurance shown on the specifications page attached to
this certificate.

When will the death benefit be payable?

We will pay the death benefit upon receipt at our home
office of written proof satisfactory to us that you died while
insured under this certificate. All payments by us are
payable from our home office. The death benefit will be
paid in a single sum or by any other method agreeable to
us and the beneficiary.

To whom will we pay the death benefit?

We will pay the death benefit to the beneficiary or
beneficiaries.

You should designate a beneficiary or beneficiaries when
you first enroll under the plan. You can change your
beneficiary designation at any time, provided all of the
following are true:

(1) yourcoverage is in force; and
(2) we have written consent of all irrevocable
beneficiaries.

A beneficiary designation must be made in writing or by
any other method we make available under the plan. Any
beneficiary designation shall take effect as of the date it is
signed or if later, the date requested by the employee, but
will not affect any payment we make or action we take
before receiving the designation.

You may also choose to name a beneficiary that you
cannot change without the beneficiary’s consent. This is
called an irrevocable beneficiary.

If there is more than one beneficiary, each will receive an
equal share, unless you have requested another method
in your beneficiary designation. To receive the death
benefit, a beneficiary must be living at the time of your
death. Inthe event a beneficiary is not living at the time of
your death, that beneficiary’s portion of the death benefit
shall be equally distributed to the remaining surviving
beneficiaries. In the event of the simultaneous deaths of
you and a beneficiary, the death benefit will be paid as if
you survived the beneficiary.

13-31555 Rev 7-2018

If there is no eligible beneficiary, or if you do not name
one, we will pay the death benefit to:

(1) your lawful spouse, if living; otherwise

(2) your natural or legally adopted child (children) in
equal shares, if living; otherwise

(3) your parents in equal shares, if living; otherwise

(4) the personal representative of your estate.

Termination

_________________________________________________________________________|
When does your coverage terminate?

Your coverage ends on the earliest of the following:

(1) the date the group policy ends; or

(2) the date you no longer meet the eligibility
requirements; or

(3) the date the group policy is amended so you are
no longer eligible; or

(4) 31 days (the grace period) after the due date of
any premium contribution which is not paid; or

(5) the last day for which premium contributions have
been paid following your written request to cease
participation under this certificate.

Can your insurance be reinstated after termination?

Yes. When your coverage terminates because you are no
longer eligible, and you become eligible again with your
previous employer within 30 days after the date your
coverage under this certificate terminated, your coverage
may be reinstated.

Conversion Right

What is the conversion right?

You may convert this insurance to a new individual life
insurance policy if all or part of your life insurance under
the group policy terminates.

You may convert up to the full amount of terminated
insurance if termination occurs because you move from
one existing eligible class to another, or you are no longer
in an eligible class.

What is the full conversion right?

You may convert up to the full amount of terminated
insurance if termination occurs because your employment
ends or because the insured is no longer in an eligible
class.

What is the limited conversion right?

Limited conversion is available if, after the insured has
been insured for at least five years, insurance is
terminated because:

(1) the group policy is terminated; or

(2) the group policy is changed, by amendment or
otherwise, to reduce or terminate the insured’s
insurance.

Minnesota Life 8
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For a limited conversion, you may convert an amount up
to the lesser of:

(1) $2,000; and

(2) the amount of life insurance which terminated
minus any amount of group life insurance for
which the insured becomes eligible under any
group policy issued or reinstated by us or any
other carrier within 31 days of the date the
insurance terminated under the group policy.

When is conversion not available?

Neither the full conversion right nor the limited conversion
right is available if your coverage under the group policy
terminates due to failure to make, when due, required
premium contributions.

To what type of policy may you convert?

Under both the full conversion right and the limited
conversion right, you may convert your insurance to any
type of individual policy of life insurance then customarily
issued by us for purposes of conversion, except term
insurance. The individual policy will not include any
supplemental benefits, including, but not limited to, any
disability benefits or accidental death and dismemberment
benefits.

How do you convert your insurance?

You convert your insurance by applying for an individual
policy and paying the first premium within 31 days after
your group insurance terminates. No evidence of
insurability will be required.

If you do not receive written notice of the existence of the
conversion right under this certificate at least 15 days prior
to the expiration date of the conversion period, then you
shall have an additional period within which to exercise
such right, but nothing herein contained shall be construed
to continue any insurance beyond the conversion period
provided in this certificate. This additional period shall
expire 15 days next after you are given such notice, but in
no event shall such additional period extend beyond 60
days next after the expiration date of the period provided
in this certificate.

How is the premium for the individual policy
determined?

We base the premium for the individual policy on the plan
of insurance, the insured’s age, and the class of risk to
which the insured belongs on the date of the conversion.
When is the individual policy effective?

The individual policy takes effect 31 days after the group
insurance provided under the group policy terminates.
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What happens if the insured dies during the 31-day
period allowed for conversion?

If the insured dies during the 31-day period allowed for
conversion, we will pay a death benefit regardless of
whether or not an application for coverage under an
individual policy has been submitted. The death benefit
will be the amount of insurance you would have been
eligible to convert under the terms of the conversion right
section.

We will return any premium paid for an individual policy to
the insured’s beneficiary named under the group policy.
In no event will we be liable under both the group policy
and the individual policy.

Additional Information

What if your age has been misstated?

If your age has been misstated, the death benefit payable
will be that amount to which you are entitled based on
your correct age. A premium adjustment will be made so
that the actual premium required at your correct age is
paid.

When does your insurance become incontestable?

Except for fraud or the non-payment of premiums, after
your insurance has been in force during your lifetime for
two years from the effective date of your coverage, we
cannot contest your coverage.

However, if there has been an increase in the amount of
insurance for which you were required to apply or for
which we required evidence of insurability, then, to the
extent of the increase, any loss which occurs within two
years of the effective date of the increase will be
contestable.

Any statements you make in your application as defined
under this certificate will, in the absence of fraud, be
considered representations and not warranties. Also, any
statement you make will not be used to void your
insurance, nor defend against a claim.

Who is the owner of this coverage?

You, the employee, are the owner of the certificate. Only
the owner has the right to exercise ownership rights under
the certificate, including but not limited to naming or
changing a beneficiary, changing the amount of insurance
or terminating the coverage.

Can achange of ownership for a certificate be
requested?

No.

Minnesota Life 9
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Is the policyholder required to maintain records?

Yes. The policyholder is required to maintain adequate

records of any information necessary for us to administer
this certificate and shall provide access to such records

when required for us to administer the policy.

If a clerical error is made in keeping records on the
insurance under the group policy, it will not affect
otherwise valid insurance. A clerical error does not
continue insurance which is otherwise stopped, make
insurance effective when it should not have been or
change the amount of insurance provided by the
provisions of the policy. If an error causes a change in
premium payment, a fair adjustment will be made.

13-31555 Rev 7-2018

Will the provisions of this certificate conform with
state law?

Yes. If any provision in this certificate, or in the provisions
of the group policy, is in conflict with the laws of the state
governing the certificates or the group policy, the provision
will be deemed to be amended to conform to such laws.

Minnesota Life 10
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Accelerated Benefits
Certificate Supplement

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company
400 Robert Street North « St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-2098

Benefits received under this Accelerated Benefits
Certificate Supplement may be taxable. You should seek
assistance from a personal tax advisor prior to requesting
an accelerated payment of death benefits.

General Information

This certificate supplement is subject to every term,
condition, exclusion, limitation, and provision of your
certificate unless otherwise expressly provided for herein.

What does this supplement provide?

This supplement provides for the accelerated payment of
a partial amount of your death benefit provided under your
certificate. If you have a terminal condition as defined in
this supplement, you may request an accelerated payment
of your death benefit.

What is aterminal condition?

A terminal condition is a condition caused by sickness or
accident which directly results in a life expectancy of 12
months or less. We must be given medical evidence that
satisfies us that you have a terminal condition. That
evidence must include certification by a physician. For
purposes of this supplement, a physician is an individual
who is licensed to practice medicine or treat illness in the
state in which treatment is received. The physician cannot
be you or your spouse, children, parents, grandparents,
grandchildren, brothers or sisters; or the spouse of any
such individuals.

Accelerated Benefit

Who may request an accelerated payment of the death
benefit?

You may request an accelerated payment of the insurance
on your life.

When can an accelerated benefit be requested?

An accelerated benefit can be requested any time,
provided the following conditions are met:

(1) theinsurance is in force and all premiums due are
fully paid; and

(2) you are the sole owner of the certificate; and

(3) the certificate does not have an irrevocable
beneficiary; and

(4) application is made in writing or through any other
method made available by us under the group
policy and in a form which is satisfactory to us.

13-31532

Is there a minimum or maximum death benefit eligible
for an accelerated benefit?

Yes. The minimum death benefit to be eligible for an
accelerated benefit under this supplement is $10,000.
The maximum death benefit that can be accelerated is
80% of the basic life amount.

Is apartial accelerated benefit available?

Yes. You may choose to accelerate only a portion of your
death benefit, providing the remaining amount of
insurance is at least $5,000. The minimum withdrawal
amount is $5,000 and will reduce the scheduled amount of
coverage paid to the beneficiary. This is called a partial
accelerated benefit.

You may reapply for the payment of the remaining amount
of insurance at any time, providing the remaining death
benefit is a minimum of $5,000 (if the death benefit is
below $5,000, you may not accelerate any amount).
However, the total amount of the death benefit for all
accelerated benefit payments cannot exceed 80% of the
basic term life amount. We may ask for further
satisfactory evidence that the insured meets all
requirements for the accelerated benefit.

When will we pay an accelerated benefit?

We will pay an accelerated benefit upon receipt at our
home office of written proof satisfactory to us that the
insured meets the requirements herein.

The accelerated benefit will be paid in a single sum or by
any other method agreeable to you and us.

To whom will we pay accelerated benefits?
We will pay the accelerated benefit to you.

What is the effect on the insured’s coverage of the
receipt of an accelerated benefit?

If you elect to accelerate a partial amount of your death
benefit, your life insurance continues for the remaining
balance. Full premium will be required on the remaining
balance while you are in an active pay status. All other
benefits under the certificate and any certificate
supplements for you will end. Any AD&D insurance will
continue while you are in an active pay status.

If a partial accelerated benefit is chosen, coverage will
remain in force and premiums will be reduced accordingly.
The remaining amount of insurance under the certificate
will be the full amount of insurance minus the amount of
insurance that was accelerated.

Minnesota Life 1
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Termination

When does an insured’s coverage under this
supplement terminate?

Aninsured’s Accelerated Benefits coverage terminates on
the earliest of:

(1) the date the insured is no longer insured for life
insurance under the certificate; or

(2) the date the policyholder requests to terminate
this supplement for the entire plan; or

(3) the date the group policy is terminated.

Additional Information

Is the request for an accelerated benefit voluntary?

Yes. An accelerated benefit will be made available on a
voluntary basis only. An accelerated benefit under this
rider is not intended to cause an involuntary reduction of
the death benefit ultimately payable to the beneficiary.

Therefore, an accelerated benefit is not available if you:
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(1) arerequired by law to use this option to meet the
claims of creditors, whether in bankruptcy or
otherwise; or

(2) arerequired by a government agency to use this
option in order to apply for, obtain, or keep a
government benefit or entitlement.

Do we have theright to obtain independent medical
verification?

Yes. We retain the right to have an insured medically
examined at our expense to verify the insured’s medical
condition. We may do this as often as reasonably
required while an accelerated benefit is being considered
or paid.

(O M e

President

Secretary
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Accidental Death and Dismemberment
Certificate Supplement

Minnesota Life Insurance Company, a Securian Company
400 Robert Street North « St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-2098

General Information

This certificate supplement is issued in consideration of
the required premium and is subject to every term,
condition, exclusion, limitation, and provision of your
certificate unless otherwise expressly provided for herein.
Coverage under this supplement will not be included in
any insurance issued under the conversion right section of
your certificate.

What does this supplement provide?

This supplement provides accidental death and
dismemberment coverage subject to all terms, conditions,
and exclusions herein.

Who is eligible for insurance under this supplement?

An employee who is eligible under the provisions
applicable to life insurance coverage under the group
policy is eligible for insurance under this supplement.

When does insurance under this supplement become
effective?

Insurance becomes effective on the date that you become
insured for life insurance under the certificate.

Accidental Death and Dismemberment

SAD&DZ Benefit

What does accidental death or dismemberment by
accidental injury mean?

Accidental death or dismemberment by accidental injury
as used in this supplement means that the insured’s death
or dismemberment results, directly and independently of
all other causes, from an accidental bodily injury which is
unintended, unexpected, and unforeseen. The bodily
injury must be the sole cause of death or dismemberment.

The injury must occur while the insured’s coverage under
this supplement is in force. The insured’s death or
dismemberment must occur within 90 days after the date
of the injury.

In no event will we pay the accidental death or
dismemberment benefit where the insured’s death or
dismemberment is caused directly or indirectly by, results
from, or where there is a contribution from, any of the
following:

(1) any disease or infirmity of mind or body, and any
medical or surgical treatment thereof; or

(2) suicide or attempted suicide, while sane or
insane; or

(3) any intentionally self-inflicted injury; or

(4) war, declared or undeclared war, whether or not
you are a member of any armed force; or
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(5) commission of, participation in, or any attempt to
commit an assault or felony; or

(6) being under the influence of any narcotic,
hallucinogen, barbiturate, gas or fumes, poison or
any other controlled substance as defined in Title Il
of the Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and
Control Act of 1970, as now or hereafter amended,
unless as prescribed by the insured’s licensed
physician. Conviction is not necessary for a
determination of being under the influence; or

(7) intoxication as defined by the laws of the
jurisdiction in which the accident occurred.
Conviction is not necessary for a determination of
being intoxicated; or

(8) active participation in ariot. “Riot” means all forms
of public violence, disorder, or disturbance of the
public peace, by three or more persons assembled
together, whether with or without a common intent
and whether or not damage to person or property
or unlawful act is the intent or the consequence of
such disorder.

What is the amount of the accidental death and
dismemberment benefit?

The amount of the benefit shall be a percentage of the
amount of insurance shown on the specifications page
attached to the group policy. The percentage is
determined by the type of loss as shown in the following
table:

FOR LOSS OF AMOUNT OF BENEFIT
Life e, Full Amount of AD&D Insurance
Both Hands or Both Feet.. Full Amount of AD&D Insurance
Sight of Both Eyes............. Full Amount of AD&D Insurance

One Hand and One Foot .. Full Amount of AD&D Insurance
One Foot and Sight

of ONe Eye.....ccvvvvvvvvvvnnnns Full Amount of AD&D Insurance
One Hand and Sight

ofOne Eye.....cccccoocvvrennnnn Full Amount of AD&D Insurance
Quadriplegia..........cccceenee. Full Amount of AD&D Insurance
Paraplegia................... 75% of Amount of AD&D Insurance
Hemiplegia.................. 50% of Amount of AD&D Insurance
Sight of One Eye.......... 50% of Amount of AD&D Insurance
One Hand or

OneFoOt........ccovuveneee. 50% of Amount of AD&D Insurance

Thumb and Index
Finger of One Hand..... 25% of Amount of AD&D Insurance

Loss of hands or feet means complete severance at or
above the wrist or ankle joints. Loss of sight means the
entire and irrecoverable loss of sight which cannot be
corrected by medical or surgical treatment or by artificial
means. Loss of thumb or finger means complete
severance at or above the metacarpophalangeal joints (the
joints closest to the palm of the hand).
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Quadriplegia means total and permanent paralysis of both
upper limbs (from the shoulder down including total
paralysis of both hands) and both lower limbs (from the
waist down including total paralysis of both feet).
Paraplegia means total and permanent paralysis of both
lower limbs (from the waist down including total paralysis
of both feet). Hemiplegia means total and permanent
paralysis of both the upper limb (from the shoulder down
including total paralysis of the hand) and lower limb (from
the waist down including total paralysis of the foot) on one
side of the body.

A benefit is not payable for both loss of one hand and the
loss of thumb and index finger of one hand for injury to the
same hand as a result of any one accident. Under no
circumstance will more than one payment be made for the
loss of the same limb, eye, finger, thumb, hand, foot, or
sight if one payment has already been made for that loss.

Benefits may be paid for more than one accidental loss
but the total amount of AD&D insurance payable under
this supplement for all of an insured’s losses due to any
one accident, not including any amount paid according to
the terms of the Additional Benefits section of this
supplement, will never exceed the full amount of AD&D
insurance shown on the specifications page attached to
the group policy.

When will the accidental death and dismemberment
benefit be payable?

We will pay the AD&D benefit upon receipt at our home
office of written proof satisfactory to us that the insured
died or suffered dismemberment as a result of an
accidental injury. All payments by us are payable from our
home office. The death benefit will be paid in a single
sum or by any other method agreeable to us and the
beneficiary.

To whom do we pay the benefit?

In the case of your accidental death, we will pay the
accidental death benefit to the person or persons entitled
to receive your death benefit under the terms of the group
policy. The benefit for other losses sustained by you will
be paid to you, if living, otherwise to your estate.

Additional Benefits

Unless stated otherwise, additional benefits are payable to
the same person or persons who receive the AD&D
benefits. Additional benefits are paid in addition to any
AD&D benefits described in the Accidental Death and
Dismemberment section, unless otherwise stated. All
provisions of this supplement, including but not limited to
the exclusions listed under the “What does accidental
death or dismemberment by accidental injury mean?”
section, shall apply to these additional benefits.

13-31528

Repatriation Benefit
What is the repatriation benefit?

If, as a result of a covered accident, an insured dies at least
75 miles from his or her principal residence, an additional
accidental death benefit shall be paid for the preparation
and transportation of the body to a mortuary. The
additional benefit shall be the lesser of the actual cost of
such preparation and transportation or $5,000. The benefit
will be paid to the person who has or who will incur such
cost, as evidenced to the satisfaction of us. This may or
may not be the beneficiary for the rest of the accidental
death proceeds. We may at our sole discretion pay
benefits directly to the facility handling the preparation
and/or transportation. All determinations and payments by
us will be final and fully release and discharge us from any
further liability under this repatriation benefit.

Seatbelt Benefit
What is the seatbelt benefit?

If an insured dies or suffers a covered dismemberment as a
result of a covered accident which occurs while he or she is
driving or riding in a private passenger car, we will pay an
additional AD&D benefit equal to the lesser of:

(1) $25,000; or

(2) theinsured’s amount of AD&D insurance; or

(3) $1,000 if an official police report certifying proper
seatbelt use is not submitted with the claim.

In order to be eligible for this benefit, the following must
apply:

(1) the private passenger car was equipped with
seatbelts; and

(2) aseatbelt was in proper use by the insured at the
time of the accident as certified in the official
accident report or by the investigating officer; and

(3) atthe time of the accident, the driver of the private
passenger car was a licensed driver and was not
intoxicated, impaired, or under the influence of
alcohol or drugs.

Seatbelt means a properly installed seatbelt (or child
restraint if the insured is a child), lap and shoulder restraint,
or other restraint approved by the National Highway Traffic
Safety Administration or any successor governmental
agency. A private passenger car means a validly
registered four-wheeled private passenger car or
policyholder-owned car, jeep, pickup truck or van, including
a sport utility vehicle (SUV), that is not licensed
commercially or being used for racing, or acrobatic or stunt
driving.
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Termination

When does an insured’s coverage under this
supplement terminate?

Aninsured’s coverage ends on the earlier of;

(1) the date you are no longer covered for life
insurance under the group policy; or

(2) 31 days (the grace period) after the due date of
any premium contribution which is not paid.

When does this supplement terminate?
This supplement will terminate on the earlier of:
(1) the date we receive a written request from the

policyholder to cancel this supplement; or
(2) the date the group policy is terminated.

13-31528

Additional Information

Do we have theright to obtain independent medical
verification?

Yes. We retain the right to have an insured medically
examined at our expense when and so often as we may
reasonably require whenever a claim is pending and,
where not forbidden by law, we reserve the right to have an
autopsy performed in case of death.

Caninsurance under this supplement be converted to
a policy of individual insurance upon termination?

No. Coverage under this supplement will not be included in
any insurance issued under the conversion right section of

the group policy.
(it M. e

President

Secretary
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Term Life Waiver of Premium
Certificate Supplement

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company
400 Robert Street North « St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-2098

General Information

This certificate supplement is issued in consideration of
the required premium and is subject to every term,
condition, exclusion, limitation, and provision of your
certificate unless otherwise expressly provided for herein.
The specifications page attached to your certificate
indicates whether this supplement applies to contributory
insurance or noncontributory insurance. Coverage under
this supplement will not be included in any insurance
issued under the conversion right section of your
certificate.

What does this supplement provide?

This supplement provides for waiver of premium if you
become totally and permanently disabled, as defined
herein, while under age 70. Upon approval of proof of
such disability, your insurance, including all supplements
to your certificate except accidental death and
dismemberment, which were in force on the date of the
onset of your disability will be continued in force without
payment of premiums during the uninterrupted
continuance of the total and permanent disability.

What is total disability?

Total disability is a disability which occurs while your
insurance and the coverage under this supplement is in
force and which results from an accidental injury or an
illness that continuously prevents you from engaging in
any occupation for which you are reasonably suited by
education, training, or experience. You must be under the
care of a licensed physician. The licensed physician
cannot be you or a member of your immediate family. For
purposes of this supplement, your immediate family
consists of your spouse, children, parents, grandparents,
grandchildren, brothers and sisters and their spouses.

What is permanent disability?

Permanent disability is a total disability which has existed
continuously for at least nine months.

What if you convert your group life insurance to a
policy of individual insurance prior to the approval of
your disability claim?

If your coverage has been converted in accordance with
the conversion right section of your certificate, benefits
under this supplement will apply only if the converted
policy is surrendered without claim, except for refund of
premiums.
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What will be considered due proof of total and
permanent disability?

You must furnish evidence satisfactory to us that your
disability:

(1) commenced while your insurance under your
certificate was in force; and

(2) meets the definition of total disability; and

(3) commenced before your 70th birthday; and

(4) was continuous for nine months or more.

We will, from time to time, also require additional proof
satisfactory to us that you continue to be totally and
permanently disabled. We may also require that you
submit to one or more medical examinations at our
expense.

If you die within one year from the last day of the month
following the end of a positive pay status following the
date of onset of your disability, your beneficiary may claim
benefits under this supplement even if your premium
payments were discontinued and you had not submitted
due proof satisfactory to us of your total disability or you
were continuously disabled for less than nine months.
Your beneficiary must submit due proof satisfactory to us
that your total disability, which began before premium
payments on your behalf were discontinued and before
your 70th birthday, continued without interruption until
your death.

When must we be notified of your disability or death?

We must receive written notice at our home office of your
total disability within twelve months following the last day
of the month following the end of positive pay status.
However, failure to give notice within the time provided will
not invalidate the claim if it is shown that notice was given
as soon as reasonably possible.

We must receive written notice at our home office within
one year of death that you died during the period of
continuance provided by this supplement. Proof must be
furnished that you continued to be totally disabled during
the entire period of continuance until death. If such notice
and proof are not provided within the required time frame,
there shall be no liability for any payment under this
supplement.

What is the amount of insurance to be continued
without payment of premium under this supplement?

The amount of insurance continued without payment of
premium shall be the amount of insurance that was in
force on the date of onset of total disability.

If your certificate provides for reductions in amounts of
insurance based on age or retirement, such reductions
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shall apply to your insurance being continued under this
supplement

How long will insurance be continued without
payment of premium?

If you become totally and permanently disabled, insurance
will be continued, without payment of premium, until the
earliest of:

(1) ifyou are disabled before age 60, your 70th
birthday; or

(2) if you are disabled on or after age 60 but prior to
age 70, your coverage will continue for one year
from the last day of the month following the end of
a positive pay status.

(3) the date you recover so that you are no longer
totally and permanently disabled; or

(4) the date you fail to furnish proof of continued
disability when requested or you refuse to submit
to a required medical examination.

What happens to your insurance when the waiver of
premium benefit ends?

When the benefits under this supplement end according to
the provisions of the section entitled “How long will
insurance be continued without payment of premium?,”
the following will apply:

(1) If you are then eligible for coverage under your
certificate, your insurance may be continued
under your certificate provided that premiums are
paid. The first such premium payment must be
made within 31 days of the date the waiver of
premium benefit ends.

(2) If you are no longer eligible for coverage under
your certificate, you may convert coverage to an
individual policy, as provided for under the
conversion right section of your certificate.

Your insurance will end unless, within 31 days of the date
benefits under this supplement end, premium payments
on your behalf are resumed or you apply to convert your
coverage.

13-31529rev 5-2014

When does this supplement terminate?
This supplement will terminate on the earlier of;

(1) the date we receive a written request from the
policyholder to terminate this supplement for the
entire plan; or

(2) the date the group policy is terminated.

Insurance being continued without further payment of
premiums in accordance with the provisions of this
supplement will not end due solely to the termination of
the Term Life Waiver of Premium Certificate Supplement
or of the group policy.

Secretary

e X YA

President
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Notice

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - a Securian Financial company
400 Robert Street North, St. Paul, MN 55101-2098

NOTICE CONCERNING COVERAGE
UNDER THE TENNESSEE LIFE AND HEALTH INSURANCE GUARANTY ASSOCIATION ACT

Insurance companies and health maintenance organizations (HMOSs) licensed in this state to write life
insurance, annuities or health insurance are members of the Tennessee Life and Health Insurance
Guaranty Association. The purpose of this Association is to provide a safety-net of coverage, within limits,
in the unlikely event that a member insurer becomes financially unable to meet its obligations. If this
should happen, the Guaranty Association will assess its other member insurance companies for the
money to pay the claims of insured persons who live in this state and, in some cases, to keep coverage
in force. The valuable extra protection provided by these insurers through the Guaranty Association is not
unlimited, however. And, as noted below, this protection is not a substitute for consumers' care in
selecting companies that are well-managed and financially stable.

The state law that provides for this safety-net coverage is called the Tennessee Life and Health
Insurance Guaranty Association Act. The following is a brief summary of this law's coverage's, exclusions
and limits. This summary does not cover all provisions of the law or describe all of the conditions
and limitations relating to coverage. This summary does not in any way change anyone's rights or
obligations under the act or the rights or obligations of the Guaranty Association.

COVERAGE

Generally, individuals will be protected by the Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association if they live
in this state and hold a life or health insurance contract, HMO contract, or an annuity, or if they are
insured under a group insurance contract, issued by an insurer authorized to conduct business in
Tennessee. Health insurance includes disability and long term care policies. The beneficiaries, payees or
assignees of insured persons are protected as well, even if they live in another state.

EXCLUSIONS FROM COVERAGE

However, persons holding such policies are not protected by this Guaranty Association if:

+ they are eligible for protection under the laws of another state (this may occur when the insolvent
insurer was incorporated in another state whose guaranty association protects insureds who
outside that state);

* the insurer was not authorized to do business in this state;

+ their policy was issued by a fraternal benefit society, a mandatory state pooling plan, a mutual
assessment company or similar plan in which the policyholder is subject to future
assessments, or by an insurance exchange.

The Guaranty Association also does not provide coverage for:

+ any policy or portion of a policy which is not guaranteed by the insurer or for which the individual
has assumed the risk, such as a variable contract sold by prospectus;

« any policy of reinsurance (unless an assumption certificate was issued);

* interestrate yields that exceed an average rate;

« dividends;

« credits given in connection with the administration of a policy by a group contractholder;

+ employers' plans to the extent they are self-funded (that is, not insured by an insurance company,
even if an insurance company administers them);

+ unallocated annuity contracts (which give rights to group contractholders, not individuals).
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LIMITS ON AMOUNT OF COVERAGE

The act also limits the amount the Guaranty Association is obligated to pay out. The Guaranty
Association cannot pay more than what the insurance company would owe under a policy or contract. For
any one insured life, the Guaranty Association guarantees payments up to a stated maximum no matter
how many policies and contracts there were with the same company, even if they provided different types
of coverage. These aggregate limits per life are as follows:

+ $300,000 for policies and contracts of all types, except as described in the next point;
» $500,000 for basic hospital, medical and surgical insurance, and major medical insurance issued
by companies that become insolvent after January 1,2010.

With these overall limits, the Guaranty Association cannot guarantee payment of benefits greater than the
following:

« life insurance death benefits - $300,000

« life insurance cash surrender value - $100,000

+ present value of annuity benefits for companies insolvent before July 1, 2009 - $100,000

+ present value of annuity benefits for companies insolvent after June 30, 2009 - $250,000
 health insurance benefits for companies declared insolvent before January 1, 2010 - $100,000
+ health insurance benefits for companies declared insolvent on or after January 1, 2010:

* $100,000 for limited benefits and supplemental health coverages
* $300,000 for disability and long term care insurance
* $500,000 for basic hospital, medical and surgical insurance, or major medical insurance

The Tennessee Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association may not provide coverage
for this policy. If coverage is provided, it may be subject to substantial limitations or
exclusions, and require continued residency in Tennessee. You should not rely on
coverage by the Tennessee Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association in selecting an
insurance company or in selecting an insurance policy.

Coverage is NOT provided for your policy or any portion of it that is not guaranteed by the
insurer or for which you have assumed the risk, such as a variable contract sold by
prospectus.

Insurance companies or their agents are required by law to give or send you this notice.
However, insurance companies and their agents are prohibited by law from using the
existence of the Guaranty Association to induce you to purchase any kind of insurance

policy.

Tennessee Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association
PO Box 190434
Nashville, TN 37219
Website: www.tnlifega.org

Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance
500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243
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Notice

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - a Securian Financial company
400 Robert Street North, St. Paul, MN 55101-2098

NOTICE CONCERNING COVERAGE
LIMITATIONS AND EXCLUSIONS UNDER THE LIFE AND
HEALTH INSURANCE GUARANTY ASSOCIATION ACT

Insurance companies and health maintenance organizations (HMOSs) licensed in this state to write life
insurance, annuities or health insurance are members of the Tennessee Life and Health Insurance
Guaranty Association. The purpose of this Association is to provide a safety-net of coverage, within limits,
in the unlikely event that a member insurer becomes financially unable to meet its obligations. If this
should happen, the Guaranty Association will assess its other member insurance companies for the
money to pay the claims of insured persons who live in this state and, in some cases, to keep coverage
in force. The valuable extra protection provided by these insurers through the Guaranty Association is not
unlimited, however, and is not available at all for some policies.

COVERAGE IS NOT PROVIDED FOR YOUR POLICY OR ANY PORTION OF IT THAT IS NOT
GUARANTEED BY THE INSURER OR FOR WHICH YOU HAVE ASSUMED THE RISK, SUCH
AS A VARIABLE CONTRACT SOLD BY PROSPECTUS.

Insurance companies or their agents are required by law to give or send you this notice.
However, insurance companies and their agents are prohibited by law from using the
existence of the Guaranty Association to induce you to purchase any kind of insurance

policy.

Tennessee Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association
PO Box 190434
Nashville, TN 37219
Website: www.tnlifega.org

Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance
500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243
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Tennessee Notice

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - a Securian Financial company
400 Robert Street North, St. Paul, MN 55101-2098

In the event you need to contact someone regarding this policy, you may contact the insurance company
issuing this policy at the following address and telephone number.

Minnesota Life Insurance Company
400 Robert Street North
St. Paul, MN 55101-2098

Telephone: (651) 665-3500
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