

Textbook and Instructional Materials Quality Commission Meeting Minutes March 21, 2022

10:00 a.m. CT

Location

In Person:
Davy Crockett Tower
Room 1A
500 James Robertson Pkwy
Nashville, TN 37219

The Textbook Commission Meeting began immediately after the workshop. Meeting called to order by Commission Chair, Dr. Linda Cash Meeting called to order at: 11:33 a.m. CST

1. Welcome & Introductions

a. Call to Order

Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair

b. Roll Call

Ms. Tabatha Siddiqi, Recording Secretary, Tennessee Department of Education

Mr. William "Billy" Bryan	Present
Ms. Laurie Cordoza-Moore	Present
Dr. Linda Cash	Present
Dr. John Combs	Present
Dr. Robin McClellan	Present
Dr. Charles Crowe	Present – Virtual
Dr. Mark Gonyea	Absent
Ms. Marcie Rudd	Present
Dr. Kathy Hickie	Present – Virtual
Ms. Deborah "Deb" Chancellor	Present

Quorum Confirmed

c. Introductions of Commission Members

Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair



2. Consent Items (Voice Vote)

a. Adoption of Agenda

Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair

Motion to adopt agenda made by Mr. William (Billy) Bryan Motion seconded by Dr. John Combs Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair, requested a voice vote Unanimous approval of agenda

3. Consent Items (No Vote)

a. Substitutions

Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair

- For the record: There were no materials substitutions submitted to the Textbook Commission for the Commission to review during this meeting.
- b. Acknowledgement of Bids Submitted for Schedule B

Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair

• For the record: The Commission acknowledges the 17 publishers who submitted instructional materials bids by the March 4, 2022, 10:30 a.m. CST, deadline set by this commission.

Math Bids Received for Schedule B: March 2022

- 1. Accelerate Learning: K-8
- 2. Amplify: 6-8
- 3. Bedford, Freeman & Worth: Statistics
- 4. Big Ideas Learning: 6-8, Traditional High School Math
- 5. Cengage Learning, INC: Precalculus, Statistics
- 6. CPM: 6-8, Traditional Math, Integrated Math, Precalculus, Statistics, Calculus
- 7. Curriculum Associates: K-8
- 8. Great Minds: K-5
- 9. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt: K-8, Traditional Math, Statistics, Precalculus, Calculus
- 10. Imagine Learning: K-8, Traditional Math, Integrated Math, Precalculus, Statistics
- 11. Mathspace: Traditional Math, Integrated Math
- 12. McGraw Hill: K-8, Traditional Math, Precalculus, Statistics
- 13. NS4ed: Traditional Math
- 14. Open Up Resources: K-8 Math, Traditional Math
- 15. Pearson Virtual Schools: K-8, Traditional Math, Statistics, Precalculus, Calculus
- 16. Savvas: K-8, Traditional Math, Integrated Math, Precalculus, Statistics, Calculus
- 17. Zearn: K-8



4. Action Items (Roll Call Vote)

a. Election of a Chair

Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair

 TCA-49-6-2201(f) requires that at the first regular meeting in each calendar year the members of the Commission shall elect a Chair for a one-year term or until a successor is elected.

Motion to elect Dr. Linda Cash as Chair made by Dr. John Combs Motion seconded by Mr. William "Billy" Bryan Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair, requested a roll call vote

Mr. William "Billy" Bryan	Aye
Ms. Laurie Cordoza-Moore	Aye
Dr. Linda Cash	Aye
Dr. John Combs	Aye
Dr. Robin McClellan	Non-voting Member
Dr. Charles Crowe	Aye – Virtual
Dr. Mark Gonyea	Absent
Ms. Marcie Rudd	Aye
Dr. Kathy Hickie	Aye – Virtual
Ms. Deborah "Deb" Chancellor	Aye

Dr. Linda Cash unanimously confirmed as Commission Chair for another year

b. Election of a Vice-Chair

Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair

Motion to elect Dr. John Combs as Vice-Chair made by Dr. Linda Cash

Motion seconded by Mr. William "Billy" Bryan

Call for cease of nominations made by Ms. Deborah "Deb" Chancellor

Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair, requested a roll call vote

Mr. William "Billy" Bryan	Aye
Ms. Laurie Cordoza-Moore	Aye
Dr. Linda Cash	Aye
Dr. John Combs	Aye
Dr. Robin McClellan	Non-voting Member
Dr. Charles Crowe	Aye – Virtual
Dr. Mark Gonyea	Absent
Ms. Marcie Rudd	Aye
Dr. Kathy Hickie	Aye – Virtual
Ms. Deborah "Deb" Chancellor	Aye



Dr. John Combs unanimously confirmed as Commission Vice-Chair for another year

c. Approval of Minutes, February 1, 2022

Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair

Motion to approve minutes from February 1, 2022 made by Mr. William "Billy" Bryan Motion seconded by Ms. Marcie Rudd

Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair, requested a voice vote Minutes unanimously approved

d. Approval of Advisory Panelists

Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair

"The Commission is voting to hire the 37 panelists, who met the cut score on the advisory panelist application set by the Commission. We are requesting the department contract with these 37 individuals. Further, we request the department send out letters on behalf of the Commission to inform all applicants on the status of their applications."

Motion to approve Advisory Panelists made by Dr. John Combs Motion seconded by Mr. William "Billy" Bryan Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair, requested a voice vote Advisory Panelists unanimously approved

e. Adoption Schedule C

Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair

"The Commission is voting to postpone the Science adoption by one year and engage in an off-cycle review of virtual materials. The schedule provided in the workshop materials will represent the current approved schedule for adoptions with the addition of the off cycle virtual materials review during the 2022-2023 academic year."

Motion to adopt Schedule C made by Ms. Marcie Rudd Motion seconded by Mr. William "Billy" Bryan Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair, requested a voice vote Schedule C unanimously approved for adoption

f. Approval of Instructional Materials Rubric Cut Scores for Math

Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair

"The Commission is voting to set the cut score for the instructional materials scoring rubric for mathematics as 100% for the inclusion of standards and 80% for the remaining indicators on the rubric."



Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair, requested a roll call vote.

Mr. William "Billy" Bryan	Aye
Ms. Laurie Cordoza-Moore	Aye
Dr. Linda Cash	Aye
Dr. John Combs	Aye
Dr. Robin McClellan	Non-voting Member
Dr. Charles Crowe	Aye – Virtual
Dr. Mark Gonyea	Absent
Ms. Marcie Rudd	Aye
Dr. Kathy Hickie	Aye – Virtual
Ms. Deborah (Deb) Chancellor	Aye

5. 2022 Meeting Dates

Dr. Linda Cash, Commission Chair

Special Called Meeting: July 11, 2022 – confirmed until further notice

In Person: 10:00 a.m. Davy Crockett Tower

Room 1A

500 James Robertson Pkwy

Nashville, TN 37219

Next Regular Meeting: September 22, 2022 - confirmed

In Person: 10:00 a.m. Davy Crockett Tower

Room 1A

500 James Robertson Pkwy

Nashville, TN 37219

6. No other Business from the Commission

7. Meeting adjourned by Commissioner Chair Dr. Linda Cash at: 11:53 a.m. CT