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These materials are not intended as legal advice, and 

should not be so construed.  

Law, local policy, and unique facts make dramatic 

differences in analyzing any situation.  Consult your 

attorney for legal advice regarding a specific situation.

DISCLAIMER
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What is going on in 
schools in 2019?



 The internet hoax was a viral urban legend that swept the 

entire globe.

“Momo Challenge”
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 As teen vaping trends 

rise, so does use in 

schools

 The Centers for Disease 

Control and Prevention 

reported that in 2017, 3.6 

million middle and high 

school students were 

using tobacco products, 

with 2.1 million favoring e-

cigarettes.

Vaping and Juuling
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 60 Wisconsin boys in a spring 

prom picture participating in 

racist salute resulted in a 

strong social media response, 

including from 

the Auschwitz Memorial.

 “We cannot know the 

intentions in the hearts of 

those who were involved. 

Moreover, because of 

students’ First Amendment 

rights, the district is not in a 

position to punish the students 

for their actions.”

Viral 'Nazi Salute' Students Not Punished
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 Arkansas School District voted Jan. 28 to pay Kylan Pierce, and his mother, Jessica 
McKinney, $42,665 to settle lawsuit.

 In February 2018, ten days after a man opened fire in a Florida high school and killed 17 
students and teachers, Pierce posted a photo of himself wearing a trench coat and 
holding an assault rifle on Instagram.  He was expelled a month later.

 He sued arguing his freedom of speech was violated by being expelled.

 Pierce, a junior, must still serve a 365-day suspension from Huntsville High School, but 
may attend online classes within the district.

 The district maintained in the agreement that it did nothing wrong and that its policies do 
not violate the U.S. Constitution.

Arkansas school settles lawsuit over 
student’s expulsion for photo with gun
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 Issues in Arizona, California and Georgia

 50th anniversary of Tinker v. Des Moines 
School District

 SCOTUS ruled in favor of students who had 
been suspended for coming to school 
wearing black armbands to protest the 
Vietnam War.

 Justice Abe Fortas proclaimed for the 
majority that “it can hardly be argued that 
either students or teachers shed their 
constitutional rights to freedom of speech or 
expression at the schoolhouse gate.” 

 Student speech could be suppressed, 
however, if it “materially disrupts classwork or 
involves substantial disorder or invasion of 
the rights of others.”

Can Schools Ban MAGA Hats?
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 GREAT FALLS –

Fort Benton 

student used his 

steer, Beef Cakes, 

to ask fellow 

student to prom 

Tuesday complete 

with a sign that 

read, “If you don’t 

go to prom with 

me, I’m gonna

have a cow!”

Montana student raises the ‘steaks’ with “prom-posal”
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 Administrators at an Illinois high school suspended ten 

football players for stripping naked and running across the 

field with Oreo cookies between their buttocks.

 Dubbed the “Oreo run,” the streaking incident was voluntary 

and not related to hazing according to coaches.

High school football players suspended for 
running naked with Oreos wedged in cheeks
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2018 - New Laws 
Impacting Student 

Attendance, Discipline, 
& Safety 



 PC 810: Requires LEAs to transfer BEP funding to a day 

treatment facility providing education services to students 

admitted to the facility by court order. 

 In order to receive BEP funding the day treatment facility 

must meet the following requirements: 

– the facility operates as a Category 1 school; 

– the facility provides a minimum 32 hours per week of 

educational instructional services to students; and 

– the facility is a recipient of a juvenile justice prevention 

grant. 

BEP Funds to Day Treatment Centers 
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 PC983: Requires the department to identify child abuse 

training programs appropriate for teachers. 

 Beginning with the 2019-2020 school year, requires each 

LEA and public charter school to ensure its teachers 

complete a child abuse training program identified by the 

department or a training program that meets the 

guidelines established by the department of children's 

services. 

Child Abuse Awareness Training
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 PC1028:  Requires all public high schools to have an 

automated external defibrillator (AED) device placed 

within the school. 

 Encourages public middle and elementary schools to 

place AEDs within the school. Requires all public and 

private schools that have an AED device in the school to 

comply with requirements for training, establishment of a 

written plan, notification, and maintenance and testing. 

AEDs in All High Schools
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 PC 777: Requires each LEA to annually submit a report to 

the department detailing the LEA's use of corporal 

punishment. Requires the department to post on its 

website the number of instances of corporal punishment 

in each LEA and the number of instances involving a 

student with an active IEP or an active 504 plan. 

 PC 900: Prohibits the use of corporal punishment against 

students with disabilities unless an LEA's discipline policy 

permits the use of corporal punishment and a parent of a 

child who has a disability permits, in writing, the use of 

corporal punishment against the parent's child. 

Corporal Punishment 
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 Progressive Truancy Intervention Plans

 PC 958: Revises and updates law regarding school 

attendance and truancy and discipline. 

Progressive Truancy
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 PC1008: Enacts the School Safety Act of 2018, which 

authorizes LEAs to adopt a policy to allow off-duty law 

enforcement officers to serve as armed school security 

officers. 

Armed School Security Officers 
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 PC 906: Elementary Schools May Offer a Gun Safety 

Course

 Course shall not permit the use or presence of live ammo 

or live fire

Gun Safety for Elementary Students
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2019 - Proposed 
Legislation Impacting 

Student Attendance, 
Discipline, & Safety 



 SB0803/HB0947 (Johnson/Lamberth )

 Administration Bill

 Requires the TN school safety center to establish school 

safety grants to assist LEAs in funding programs that 

address school safety; 

 Establishes requirements for school safety grant 

applications and eligibility; 

 Requires the Tennessee school safety center to reserve 

funds for, and give priority in awarding school safety 

grants to, LEAs with schools that did not have a full-time 

school resource officer during the 2018-2019 school year.

School Safety Funding for SROs
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 SB1238/HB1158 (Gresham/Ogles)

 Authorizes LEAs to establish a threat assessment team 
for the purpose of developing comprehensive, 
intervention-based approaches to prevent violence, 
manage reports of potential threats, and create a system 
that fosters a safe, supportive, and effective school 
environment. 

 Threat assessment teams must include LEA personnel 
and law enforcement personnel but may include juvenile 
services personnel, a representative of the local district 
attorney's office, a representative of DCS, and mental 
health service providers.

Threat Assessment Teams
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 If a threat assessment team makes a preliminary determination 
that an individual poses a threat of violence or exhibits 
significantly disruptive behavior or need for assistance, this bill 
authorizes the threat assessment team to request law 
enforcement information or records and court files and records, 
which may be provided as deemed appropriate by the 
applicable law enforcement agency or juvenile court. 

 This bill prohibits a member of a threat assessment team from 
disclosing any court files or records obtained pursuant to any 
such request or otherwise using any record of an individual 
beyond the purpose for which the disclosure was made. 

 This bill does not require a law enforcement agency or juvenile 
court to produce a record requested by a threat assessment 
team.

Threat Assessment Teams
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 This bill prohibits the use of law enforcement and juvenile 
justice information obtained pursuant to this bill for the following 
purposes:

(1) To discipline or exclude a child from educational services 
unless the information is provided to a school pursuant to the 
present law requirement for notification of schools of certain 
adjudications of delinquency that would be a violent criminal 
offense if committed by an adult; or
(2) By a juvenile court system to assess legal consequences 
against a person for any action, unless the information is 
brought before the juvenile court pursuant to a properly filed 
petition and addressed through the proper court proceedings.

Threat Assessment Teams
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 This bill specifies that an LEA may disclose information 

contained in a student's education record to appropriate 

parties in the event of an emergency if knowledge of the 

information is necessary to protect the health or safety of 

the student or other individuals. Any such disclosure must 

comply with relevant state and federal privacy laws.

Threat Assessment Teams
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 This bill requires a threat assessment team to certify to 

any agency or individual providing confidential information 

that the information will not be disclosed to any other 

party, except as provided by law. 

 This bill provides immunity from civil liability to threat 

assessment teams and individual members of threat 

assessment teams, and persons providing information to 

threat assessment teams, for any lawful actions taken in 

accordance with this bill.

Threat Assessment Teams
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 SB1196/HB0671(White/Daniel)

 Caption Bill

 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 49 
and Title 68, relative to school safety

 Increases the amount of time from 30 to 45 days prior to 
adoption of a district-wide and building-level school safety 
plan that the LEA shall make the plan available for public 
comment.

District Wide and Building Level Safety 
Plans
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 SB1153/HB1255 (Akbari/Johnson)

 Prohibits local boards of education and school administrators 
from suspending students in pre-kindergarten through grade 
two from attending school as a form of discipline. AN ACT to 
amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 49, relative to 
discipline of students.

 Recommended Amendatory Language

 Students in Voluntary Pre-K-2 may only be suspended: 

– 1. If required by federal law (carrying a gun on school property). 

– 2. For not more than five (5) days per incident if the school 
administrator, in consultation with school psychologist or other 
mental health professionals, determines that there is an imminent 
threat of serious harm to other students or staff that cannot be 
reduced or eliminated through interventions or supports.

Limits on Student Suspensions
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 SB0820/HB0767 (Akbari/Love)

 Requires in-service training in restorative justice discipline 

practices for all employees of an LEA; 

 Requires the course of instruction in all public schools to 

include content designed to educate children on 

restorative justice discipline practices.

 Taken off notice in House

Training in Restorative Justice Discipline
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 SB0604/HB0664 (Robinson/Parkinson)

 Requires students expelled in grades 7 through 12 to 

attend alternative school; 

 Requires a governing body of a public charter school to 

establish an alternative educational setting for students 

suspended from the regular school program; 

 Prohibits a charter school from expelling a student from 

school attendance until after the student has been placed 

in an alternative educational setting.

Mandates Alternative School for Grades 7-12
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 SB0170*/HB0405 (Robinson/Love)

 Requires each local board of education to adopt a policy requiring 
schools within the LEA to perform an adverse childhood experiences 
assessment before suspending or expelling a student or requiring a 
student to attend in-school suspension or alternative school. 

 Present law requires the TDOE to develop an evidence-based 
training program on ACEs for school leaders and teachers. ACEs are 
stressful or traumatic events experienced by minor children, such as 
physical abuse or substance abuse. 

 Present law also authorizes LEAs to develop their own ACEs training 
program to make available to their school personnel.

 FISCAL NOTE –

– Increase State Expenditures - $197,500/FY19-20 $107,500/FY20-21 
and Subsequent Years Increase Local Expenditures - Exceeds 
$6,682,000/FY19-20 and Subsequent Years*

ACES Assessment prior to suspension or 
expulsion
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 SB0819/HB0766 (Akbari/Love)

 Requires all school personnel to receive implicit bias in-

service training annually; 

 Requires students desiring a license to teach to pass a 

course of implicit bias training.

Mandatory Annual Implicit Bias Training
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 SB0026/HB0097(Gardenhire/Howell)

 The bill limits the places in which one may use vapor products, 
including schools grounds. 

 In most places, the bill provides the same limitations on vaping as 
current law does smoking. 

 The bill changes the definition of Vapor product and school grounds 
where smoking and vaping is prohibited by replacing the current 
definition of "vapor product" with one that includes a description of 
vapor as "visible or non-visible", and includes "any substance used to 
refill a vapor cartridge". 

 Adult staff members at public and private kindergartens and 
elementary and secondary schools must not be within 100 feet of any 
entrance to the building for smoking or the use of vapor products. 
This is a change from existing law, which states 50 feet for smoking. 

 The bill removes current language that allows adults to smoke on 
property surrounding school grounds.

Vaping on School Grounds
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 SB1200/HB1454 (Reeves/Ramsey)

 SB0849*/HB1459 (Hensley/Gant)

 Increases age of persons allowed to use tobacco and 
vapor products from 18 years of age to 21 years of age.

 SB0738*/HB1419 (Kyle/Towns)

 Raises the minimum age from 18 to 21 to purchase any 
tobacco or vapor products; 

 Creates a Class C misdemeanor of selling or distributing 
flavored electronic cigarettes; 

 Increases the tax rate on cigarettes by 1.25 cents per 
cigarette.

Raising Age to Smoke or Vape to 21
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 SB0360*/HB1284 (Southerland/Mitchell)

 This bill enacts the Prevention of Youth Access to 

Tobacco, Smoking Hemp, and Vapor Products Act. It 

prohibits the sale or distribution of smoking hemp 

products to, or purchase of smoking hemp products on 

behalf of, persons under eighteen (18) years of age.

No Sale of Smoking Hemp to Minors
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 SB0752*/HB1247 (Hensley/Byrd)

 Deletes requirement that Wayne County and Pickett 

County be defined as distressed rural counties for 

purposes of being considered an eligible county 

authorized to select employees who may carry a 

concealed handgun on school property. 

Arming Teachers in Distressed Rural 
Counties
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 SB0182*/HB0248 (Reeves/Tillis)

 This bill requires local boards of education to adopt policies to allow a 
parent of a student to view photos or video footage from a camera 
installed inside a school bus if a parent or student reports to a school 
official that physical harm, harassment, intimidation, or bullying has 
occurred against the parent's student while being transported on the 
school bus. These policies must:

– (1) Require that photos or video footage be viewed under supervision 
of the director of schools, the school principal, or a school official; and

– (2) Comply with state confidential records laws, the federal Family 
Educational Rights and Privacy Act, and any other relevant state or 
federal privacy laws

 These policies may establish a process or timeframe by which a 
parent must request access to view the photos or video footage.

Parent Viewing of Bus Videos
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 SB1301/HB1176 (Pody/Weaver)

 This would allow law enforcement officers in good 

standing to carry firearms onto the grounds of a school 

even if not in performance of their official duties, without 

having to notify school officials first. 

Off-Duty Law Enforcement Officers 
Carrying Firearms on School Grounds
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 SB1261/HB0399 (Gresham/Parkinson)

 Original bill requires each local board of education and 

charter school governing body to adopt a comprehensive 

code of conduct for each school under the authority of the 

board or governing body that describes the types of 

behavior expected from all persons entering on school 

grounds.

 Amended to only pertain to non-students

Code of Conduct for Non-Students on 
School Grounds 
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The Legal Foundation 
for Managing Student 

Behavior in 2019
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 Understand sources of authority:

– Federal and state law

– Case law

– SBE rules

– Local board policy 

 Defensible policies that make schools safer

 Consistent and equitable application of policies

Foundation for School Discipline in Law
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Discipline Policies & 
Codes

41



 Tennessee law provides school boards broad discretion to 

manage and control schools under their jurisdiction, 

including the obligation to set policy regarding student 

behavior.

School Board Authority
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 (a) Each local board of education and charter school 
governing body shall adopt a discipline policy to apply to the 
students in each school operated by the LEA or charter school 
governing body.

 (b) The director of schools or head of the charter school is 
responsible for overall implementation and supervision, and 
each school principal is responsible for administration and 
implementation of a code of conduct within the principal's 
school.

 (c) In developing a discipline policy, the local board of 
education or charter school governing body shall seek 
recommendations from parents, employees of the LEA or 
charter school, law enforcement personnel, and youth-related 
agencies in the community.

T.C.A. §49-6-4002. Discipline policy --
Code of conduct.
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 (d) Each discipline policy or code of conduct must contain the type of behavior 
expected from each student, the consequences of failure to obey the standards, and 
the importance of the standards to the maintenance of a safe learning environment 
where orderly learning is possible and encouraged. Each policy must address:

– (1) Language used by students;

– (2) Respect for all school employees;

– (3) Fighting, threats, bullying, cyberbullying, and hazing by students;

– (4) Possession of weapons on school property or at school functions;

– (5) Transmission by electronic device of any communication containing a credible threat to 
cause bodily injury or death to another student or school employee;

– (6) Damage to the property or person of others;

– (7) Misuse or destruction of school property;

– (8) Sale, distribution, use, or being under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or drug 
paraphernalia;

– (9) Student conduct on school property, conduct in classes, and conduct on school buses; 
and

– (10) Other subjects that a local board of education or a charter school governing body 
chooses to include.

T.C.A. §49-6-4002. Discipline policy --
Code of conduct.
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 (e) Each local discipline policy must indicate that the following offenses are 
zero tolerance offenses:

 (1) Unauthorized possession on school property of a firearm, as defined in 18 
U.S.C. § 921;

 (2) Aggravated assault as defined in § 39-13-102 upon any teacher, principal, 
administrator, any other employee of an LEA, or a school resource officer;

 (3) Assault that results in bodily injury as defined in § 39-17-101(a)(1) upon any 
teacher, principal, administrator, any other employee of an LEA, or a school 
resource officer; and

• Meant - A person commits assault who intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causes 
bodily injury to another; but

• Says - It is an offense for a person to display, exhibit, handle, or use a 
poisonous or dangerous snake or reptile in a manner that endangers the life or 
health of any person.

 (4) Unlawful possession of any drug, including any controlled substance, as 
defined in §§ 39-17-402 -- 39-17-415, controlled substance analogue, as 
defined by § 39-17-454, or legend drug, as defined by § 53-10-101 on school 
grounds or at a school-sponsored event.

T.C.A. §49-6-4002. Discipline policy --
Code of conduct.
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 "Zero Tolerance" has no formal definition but generally means policies 
that require suspension & expulsion in response to weapons, drugs & 
violent acts in the school setting. 

 Over time, zero tolerance has come to refer to school or district-wide 
policies that mandate predetermined, typically harsh consequences 
or punishments for a wide range of rule violations.

 Zero tolerance policies became popular in the 1980s, during the “war 
on drugs.”

– Broken windows philosophy - cracking down on lesser crimes 
prevents bigger ones. 

– Providing severe consequences to even minor infractions would send 
a message to students that disruptive behavior was unacceptable.

 Zero tolerance policies were supposed to make schools safer and 
make discipline fair. 

History of Zero Tolerance 
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 Gun Free Schools Act of 1994

– Mandatory Calendar Year Expulsion

– Firearms

– Case-by-case modifications

 Drugs - 1996

 Aggravated assault – 1996

 Local board policy

Zero Tolerance in Tennessee
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 (g) (1) It is the legislative intent that if a rule or policy is designated as a zero 
tolerance policy, then violations of that rule or policy must not be tolerated and 
violators shall receive certain, swift, and proportionate punishment.

 (2) Notwithstanding other provisions of this section or any other law, a student 
shall be considered in violation of a zero tolerance offense and shall be 
expelled for a period of not less than one (1) calendar year, except that the 
director of schools may modify this expulsion on a case-by-case basis for the 
following:
– (A) A student brings to school or is in unauthorized possession on school property 

of a firearm, as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 921;

– (B) A student commits aggravated assault as defined in § 39-13-102 or commits 
an assault that results in bodily injury as defined in § 39-13-101(a)(1) upon any 
teacher, principal, administrator, any other employee of an LEA, or a school 
resource officer; or

– (C) A student is in unlawful possession of any drug, including any controlled 
substance, as defined in §§ 39-17-402 -- 39-17-415, controlled substance 
analogue, as defined by § 39-17-454, or legend drug, as defined by § 53-10-101, 
on school grounds or at a school-sponsored event.

Zero Tolerance in Tennessee
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 (3) Nothing in this section prohibits the assignment of students who 

are subject to expulsion from school to an alternative school.

 (4) Disciplinary policies and procedures for all other student 

offenses, including terms of suspensions and expulsions, must be 

determined by local board of education policy.

 (5) For purposes of this subsection (g):

– (A) "Expelled" means removal from the student's regular school 

program at the location where the violation occurred or removal from 

school attendance altogether, as determined by the school official; and

– (B) "Zero tolerance offense" means an offense committed by a student 

requiring the student to be expelled from school for at least one (1) 

calendar year that can only be modified on a case-by-case basis by 

the director of schools or the head of a charter school.

Zero Tolerance in Tennessee (cont.)
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 (f) Each local board of education and charter school 

governing body may adopt a discipline policy that promotes 

positive behavior and includes evidence-based practices to 

respond effectively to misbehavior and minimize a student's 

time away from school.

 (g) Each discipline policy or code of conduct must state that 

a teacher, principal, school employee, or school bus driver 

may use reasonable force in compliance with § 49-6-4107.

T.C.A. §49-6-4002. Discipline policy --
Code of conduct.
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 The principal of each school shall apply the code of 

conduct uniformly and fairly to each student at the school 

without partiality or discrimination.

T.C.A. §49-6-4004. Uniform and fair 
application of code of conduct.
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 Each local board of education or charter school governing 

body may choose to adopt different but consistent 

discipline policies or codes of conduct to apply to different 

classes of schools, such as elementary, middle, junior 

high, and senior high schools, under its jurisdiction. The 

policies and codes of conduct must be uniform to the 

extent of maximum consideration for the safety and well-

being of students and employees.

T.C.A. §49-6-4005. Different discipline policies or codes of 
conduct applicable to different classes of schools.
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 When a discipline policy or code of conduct has been 

adopted by a local board of education or charter school 

governing body, a copy must be posted on the LEA or 

school website. A copy must also be supplied to all school 

counselors, teachers, administrative staff, students, and 

parents.

T.C.A. §49-6-4007. Posting and distribution 
of discipline policy or code of conduct.
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 (a) An LEA shall include in its student discipline code a 

provision prohibiting students from wearing, while on the 

grounds of a public school during the regular school day, 

clothing that exposes underwear or body parts in an 

indecent manner that disrupts the learning environment.

 (b) An LEA shall specify in its student discipline code the 

disciplinary actions that shall be taken against a student 

for a violation of subsection (a).

 (c) Subsection (a) shall not be enforced in a manner that 

discriminates against a student on the basis of race, color, 

religion, sex, disability, or national origin.

T.C.A. §49-6-4009. Student discipline code to 
include provision prohibiting indecent clothing.
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 Does your policy manual include all policies required by law?
– Corporal Punishment

– Hazing

– Bullying & Harassment

 How often are your policies reviewed?

 Policies must give adequate notice of prohibited conduct but 
not be too limiting

 Policies must be applied equitably and uniformly

 Policies must serve a legitimate educational purpose:
– Safety
– Order
– Suppression of lewd or vulgar speech

Guidelines for Discipline Policies and Codes
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 Fifth Amendment’s Due Process clause 

applied to states through the 14th

Amendment

 Due process clause:

– No person shall be deprived of life, 

liberty, and property without due process 

of law.

Due Process
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 Substantive Due Process

 Policies will generally be upheld if they are reasonable 

and rationally related to a legitimate school interest.

 FAIR & REASONABLE

Due Process
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 Procedural Due Process

 Due process actually means notice and opportunity to be 

heard.

 What process is due prior to deprivation?

 The formality of the due process depends on the length of 

the deprivation (suspension or expulsion).

 Goss v. Lopez and T.C.A. § 49-6-3401

– Greater than 10 days requires a formal hearing

Due Process
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Expulsions and 
Suspensions



 (a) Any principal, principal-teacher or assistant principal of any public 
school in this state is authorized to suspend a pupil from attendance at the 
school, including its sponsored activities, or from riding a school bus, for 
good and sufficient reasons. Good and sufficient reasons for suspension 
include, but are not limited to:
– (1) Willful and persistent violation of the rules of the school;

– (2) Immoral or disreputable conduct or vulgar or profane language;

– (3) Violence or threatened violence against the person of any personnel 
attending or assigned to any public school;

– (4) Willful or malicious damage to real or personal property of the school, or the 
property of any person attending or assigned to the school;

– (5) Inciting, advising or counseling of others to engage in any of the acts 
enumerated in subdivisions (a)(1)-(4);

– (6) Marking, defacing or destroying school property;

– (7) Possession of a pistol, gun or firearm on school property;

– (8) Possession of a knife and other weapons, as defined in § 39-17-1301 on 
school property;

T.C.A. §49-6-3401. Suspension and 
Expulsion of Students
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 (9) Assaulting a principal, teacher, school bus driver or other school personnel with vulgar, 
obscene or threatening language;

 (10) Unlawful use or possession of barbital or legend drugs, as defined in § 53-10-101;

 (11) One (1) or more students initiating a physical attack on an individual student on school 
property or at a school activity, including travel to and from school or a school activity;

 (12) Making a threat, including a false report, to use a bomb, dynamite, any other deadly 
explosive or destructive device, including chemical weapons, on school property or at a school 
sponsored event;

 (13) Any other conduct prejudicial to good order or discipline in any public school; and

 (14) Off campus criminal behavior that results in the student being legally charged with an 
offense that would be classified as a felony if the student was charged as an adult or if 
adjudicated delinquent for an offense that would be classified as a felony if the student was an 
adult, or if the student was convicted of a felony, and the student's continued presence in school 
poses a danger to persons or property or disrupts the educational process. Notwithstanding §
37-1-131 or any other law to the contrary, the principal of the school in which the student is 
enrolled and the director of schools shall determine the appropriate educational assignment for 
the student released for readmission.

T.C.A. §49-6-3401. Suspension and 
Expulsion of Students (cont.)
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 Due process requirements

 Written notification to parents

 Long term (more than 10 days)

 Special education

T.C.A. §49-6-3401. Suspension and 
Expulsion of Students (cont.)
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 Unconditional for specified period

 Reasonable terms and conditions

 May assign alternative program

 May be permitted to take final exams

 Appeals to board or SDHA

Terms of Suspensions in State Law
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 Federal

– Gun Free Schools Act

– IDEA

 Tennessee School Security Act

 Tennessee’s anti-bullying and anti-hazing laws

 Local board policy

Other Laws to Consider
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Districts and schools in Tennessee will 
exemplify excellence and equity such that all 

students are equipped with the knowledge 
and skills to successfully embark on their 

chosen path in life.

Excellence | Optimism | Judgment | Courage | Teamwork


