

Quality 12-Month Agricultural Education (Q12) Program Frequently Asked Questions

1. Do all agricultural education programs have to be Q12 programs?

No. State law (T.C.A. § 49-5-416(b)), all Tennessee secondary agricultural education programs that were 12-month programs (since the 1992-1993 fiscal year or thereafter), shall be maintained as 12-month programs by the local board of education, as long as a Q12 program, as determined by criteria established by the Tennessee Department of Education, is maintained.

It is the Tennessee Department of Education's position that all students who choose to participate in an agricultural education program benefit most from quality 12-month programs. Therefore, all schools with agricultural education programs should strive to provide such comprehensive programs for students.

2. If there are multiple agriculture teachers in a school, does that constitute a single program or multiple programs?

It constitutes a single program. T.C.A. § 49-5-416(b) only refers to programs and not the number of faculty hired.

3. Does the Tennessee Department of Education provide additional funding for Q12 programs?

All Q12 agricultural education programs receive no additional funding through the BEP. Prior to the use of the BEP funding formula, funding for agricultural education programs was determined using a weighted formula which determined the minimum amount of funds necessary for 12-month vs. 10-month agricultural education programs. During the conversion to the BEP funding formula, the prior weighted formula which identified the 10- and 12-month program funds was removed and the amount of funding for all students was increased.

4. Does a new agricultural education program started after 1992-1993 have to be a Q12 program?

No. As stated above in the answer to question No. 1.



5. Does a 10-month agricultural education program, which was in place prior to the 1992-93 fiscal year, have to be made a Q12 program?

No. T.C.A. § 49-5-416(b) does not mandate an agricultural education program of 12months duration or otherwise. If an agricultural education program has always been less than a 12-month program, nothing in the law requires the program to be made a 12month program. However, agricultural education programs which were 12-month programs for the fiscal year 1992-93 or in any following fiscal year must continue to be a 12-month program and meet the Q12 criteria.

6. What if the teacher in a Q12 program cannot meet the criteria because of sickness, maternity leave, or extended illness?

The LEA must handle this situation as it would handle any program in which a teacher is unable to continue teaching. First and foremost, LEAs shall follow all state laws and local policies regarding the use of sick leave by teachers. An interim teacher may be used to fulfill the program requirements, or an improvement plan may be created to demonstrate how the LEA would bring the program into compliance with the published criteria.

7. Can an agricultural education program which is currently a Q12 program be reduced to 11 months or less? How?

All programs which were 12-month programs in the 1992-93 fiscal year and thereafter must remain 12-month programs and meet the Q12 criteria. Any program found during department's risk-based monitoring or annual evaluation by the CTE director not to have met a majority of expectations will receive appropriate expectations for corrective action. If corrective items are not implemented, then the program may not remain a Q12 program.

8. Do the LEAs have the authority to expand or clarify the requirements for a Q12 program?

LEAs may always adopt local program policies as long as they are not in conflict with state laws, State Board of Education administrative rules, or Tennessee Department of Education requirements.