

Tennessee will explore a student-focused K-12 public school investment strategy that meets the following criteria:



Prioritizes students over systems



Incentivizes student outcomes



Reflects Tennesseans' values



Empowers parents to engage in their child's education



Creates flexible funding to prepare students for postsecondary success



Ensures all students, regardless of location or learning needs, are served at a high-level

How to Get Involved

Students, families, educators, district and school leaders, higher education partners, elected officials, business leaders, education stakeholders and members of the public will be engaged throughout these conversations in the coming months through a central steering committee, 18 subcommittees, public survey opportunity, local meetings and more.

Visit <u>tn.gov/education/tnedufunding</u> to learn more and for ways to get involved. E-mail <u>tnedu.funding@tn.gov</u> with questions.

Tennessee Funding Review Committees

The state's engagement includes a central steering committee composed of statewide policymakers and 18 subcommittees, in addition to a committee of national experts, regional meetings of county commissioners and school board members.

Funding Review Steering Committee

Governor Bill Lee

Commissioner **Penny Schwinn**Tennessee Department of Education

Commissioner **Butch Eley**Tennessee Department of Finance
and Administration

Senate Majority Leader **Jack Johnson**

House Majority Leader William Lamberth

Senate Speaker Pro Tempore Ferrell Haile

Interim Senate Education Chairman Jon Lundberg

House Education Administration Chairman Mark White House Education Instruction Chairlady **Debra Moody**

House Education Administration K-12 Chairman **Kirk Haston**

Senate Finance, Ways, and Means Chairman **Bo Watson**

House Finance, Ways, and Means Chairlady **Patsy Hazlewood**

Funding Review Subcommittees

Student Engagement Subcommittee

Chair: Elizabeth Brown, State President, Future Business Leaders of America – Tennessee; Senior, Coffee County High School

Students with Disabilities and Gifted Students Subcommittee

Chair: Commissioner Brad Turner, Tennessee Department of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities

English Learner Subcommittee

Chair: Raul Lopez, Executive Director, Latinos for Tennessee

Economically Disadvantaged and Highly Mobile Students Subcommittee

Chair: Victor Evans, Executive Director, TennesseeCAN

Parent Choice and Voice Subcommittee

Chair: Dr. Derwin Sisnett, Commissioner, Tennessee Public Charter School Commission

Teacher Advisory Subcommittee

Chair: Morgan Rankin, 2021-22 Teacher of the Year, Johnson City Schools

Principal Advisory Subcommittee

Chair: Farrah Griffith, Principal, White County Schools

School System Personnel Subcommittee

Chair: Dr. Steve Starnes, Director of Schools, Greenville City Schools

School System Leadership Subcommittee

Chair: Dr. Danny Weeks, Director of Schools, Dickson County Schools

Rural and Small District Subcommittee

Chair: Janet Ayers, President, Ayers Foundation

Suburban Districts, Municipals, and Fast-Growing Communities Subcommittee

Chair: Dr. Ted Horrell, Director of Schools, Lakeland School System

Urban District Subcommittee

Chair: Cato Johnson, Chief of Staff and Senior Vice President of Public Policy/Regulatory Affairs, Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare

Higher Education and Post-Secondary Readiness Subcommittee

Chair: Dr. Youlanda Jones, President, Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology- Covington, Ripley Newbern

Post-Secondary Readiness and the Business Community Subcommittee

Chair: Randy Boyd, President, University of Tennessee System

Chambers of Commerce and Industry Subcommittee

Chair: Dr. Jared Bigham, Senior Advisor on Workforce & Rural Initiatives, Tennessee Chamber of Commerce

Education Foundations Subcommittee

Chair: Dr. Dan Challener, President, Public Education Foundation

Regional Collectives and Advocacy Subcommittee

Co-Chairs: Scott Niswonger, Chairman and Founder, Niswonger Foundation, and **Dr. Nancy Dishner**, President and CEO, Niswonger Foundation

Fiscal Responsibility Subcommittee

Chair: Justin Owen, President & Chief Executive Officer, Beacon Center of Tennessee

Department of **Education**