Real Estate Commission

Apply / Renew License Verify a License Transfer

Created in 1951, The Tennessee Real Estate Commission licenses, registers and regulates real estate brokers and affiliate brokers, real estate firms, rental location agents, time-share salespersons and developments, vacation clubs and vacation lodging services.

The Commission also enacts rules addressing professional conduct and standards of practice.

The mission of the Tennessee Real Estate Commission is to protect the public through establishment and administration of minimum requirements for candidates and licensees, effective professional education of licensees and enforcement of professional conduct.

Clarifying Law T.C.A. § 62-13-318  

Retiring a License and CE Credit

New legislation was enacted during the 2016 legislative session regarding license retirement. Public Chapter 838, Section 10, amends T.C.A. § 62-13-318 by eliminating the requirement that all education requirements specified in § 62-13-303 must be completed as a condition to temporary retirement of a license. Instead, the licensee must complete the education requirement (16 hours of CE) prior to reactivation and must do so within the current license renewal period in which they are seeking reactivation. Thus, if a licensee reactivates a retired license within the same renewal period in which the license was retired, any continuing education hours obtained prior to retirement within that renewal period would count toward the 16 hours required to reactivate.

Online Services

TREC.info@tn.gov

Real Estate Commission Help Desk