
2016 Survey:

State Legislative Compensation, Session Per Diem and Mileage

Salaries

Regular sessions

State or other Per diem Limit Annual Mileage

jurisdiction salary  on days salary cents per mile Session per diem rate

Alabama . . . . . . $42,830 (a) 54/mile. (b)

Alaska . . . . . . $50,400 54/mile. $223 or $249 a day (depending on the time of year). Tied to the federal 

rate. Legislators who reside in the capitol area receive 75% of the federal 

rate. 

Arizona . . . . . . $24,000 44.5/mile. $35 a day for the first 120 days of the regular session and for special 

sessions and $10 a day thereafter; members residing outside Maricopa 

County receive an additional $25 a day for the first 120 days of the regular 

session and for special sessions and an additional $10 a day thereafter (V). 

Set by statute.

Arkansas . . . . . . $39,400 54/mile. $150 a day plus mileage (V). Tied to the federal rate.

California . . . . . . $100,113 53/mile. $176 a day for each day in session.

Colorado . . . . . . $30,000 49/mile. $99 a day for members living outside Denver; $45 a day for members who 

live 50 or fewer miles from the capitol (V). Set by the legislature.

Connecticut . . . . . . $28,000 54/mile. No per diem is paid.

Delaware . . . . . . $44,541 40/mile. No per diem is paid.

Florida . . . . . . $29,697 44.5/mile. $152 a day based on the number of days in Tallahassee (V). 

Georgia . . . . . . $17,342 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $173 a day (U). Set by the Legislative Services Committee.

Hawaii . . . . . . $60,180 (c) $175 a day throughout session for members who do not reside on the 

island of Oahu; $10 a day for members living on Oahu during the 

mandatory five-day recess only.

Idaho . . . . . . $16,684 54/mile. One roundtrip per week $129 a day for members establishing a second residence in Boise; $49 a day 

if no second residence is established and up to $25 a day travel (V). Set by 

the compensation commission.

Illinois . . . . . . $67,836 39/mile $111 a session day.

Indiana . . . . . . $24,671 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $161 a day (U). Tied to federal rate.

Iowa . . . . . . $25,000 39/mile. $160 a day; $120 a day for Polk County legislators (U). Set by the legislature 

to coincide with the federal rate. 

Kansas $88.66 a day (C) . . . . . . 54/mile. $140 a day.

Kentucky $188.22 a day . . . . . . 54/mile. $154 a day.

Louisiana . . . . . . $16,800 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $157 a day (U). Tied to federal rate.

Appendix F.  2016 National Conference of State Legislatures Survey 
Results 
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Salaries

Regular sessions

State or other Per diem Limit Annual Mileage

jurisdiction salary  on days salary cents per mile Session per diem rate

Maine . . . . . . $14,074 a year first 

regular session; $9,982 a 

year second regular 

session. (d)

44/mile. $38 a day lodging (or mileage and tolls up to $38 a day in lieu of housing). 

$32 a day meals. Set by statute.

Maryland . . . . . . $46,061 54/mile. (e) $45 a day meals. $101 a day lodging. 

Massachusetts . . . . . . $60,032 (f) (f)

Michigan . . . . . . $71,685 54/mile. $10,800 a year expense allowance for session and interim (V). Set by the 

compensation commission.

Minnesota . . . . . . $31,141 Tied to federal rate. (g) $86 a day for senators; $66 a day for representatives.

Mississippi . . . . . . $10,000 54/mile. $140 a day (U). Tied to federal rate.

Missouri . . . . . . $35,915 37.5/mile. $112 a day (U). Tied to federal rate. 

Montana $82.64 a day (L) . . . . . . 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $112.85 a day (U).

Nebraska . . . . . . $12,000 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $140 a day for members residing 50 miles or more from the capitol; $51 a 

day for members residing inside the 50-mile radius.

Nevada $146.29 a day (C) Up to 60 

days.

. . . 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $140 a day.

New Hampshire . . .  $200 per 2-year term. (h) No per diem is paid.

New Jersey . . . . . . $49,000 None No per diem is paid.

New Mexico . . . . . . . . . 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $163 a day (V). Tied to federal rate.

New York . . . . . . $79,500  54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $174 a day (including overnight) or $59 a day (no overnight).

North Carolina . . . . . . $13,951 29/mile. One roundtrip per week. $104 a day (U). Set by statute. 

North Dakota $172 a day (C) . . . . . . 54/mile. One roundtrip per week. 

Tied to federal rate.

Up to $1,682 a month lodging (V).

Ohio . . . . . . $60,584 52/mile. (i) No per diem is paid.

Oklahoma . . . . . . $38,400 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $157 a day (U). Tied to federal rate.

Oregon . . . . . . $23,568 54/mile. $140 a day.

Pennsylvania . . . . . . $85,339 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $175 a day. Tied to federal rate.

Rhode Island . . . . . . $15,414 57.5/mile. No per diem is paid.

South Carolina . . . . . . $10,400 54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $140 a day. Tied to federal rate.

South Dakota  $6,000/session (j) $140 a day (L) (U). 

Tennessee . . . . . . $20,884 47/mile. $204 a day (L) (U). Tied to federal rate.

Texas . . . . . . $7,200 50/mile. $1.24/mile for single, twin 

and turbo engine airplanes. Set by 

general appropriations bill.

$190 a day (U). Set by ethics commission.

Utah $273 a day (C) . . . . . . 56/mile. Up to $100 plus tax a day (C) lodging; up to $39/date meals (V). Tied to in-

state lodging and meal reimbursement rates.  

Vermont . . . . . . $693.74/w during 

session.

54/mile. Tied to federal rate. $115 a day lodging (including overnight) or $74 a day (no overnight).

Virginia . . . . . . $18,000 a year Senate; 

$17,640 a year House.

54/mile. $185 a day senators; $185 a day delegates.

Washington . . . . . . $45,474 a year; 

increases to $46,839 a 

year  eff. 9/1/2016.

54/mile. $120 a day.
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Salaries

Regular sessions

State or other Per diem Limit Annual Mileage

jurisdiction salary  on days salary cents per mile Session per diem rate

West Virginia . . . . . . $20,000 48.5/mile. $131 a day (U). Set by compensation commission.

Wisconsin . . . . . . $50,950 51/mile. One roundtrip per week Senate - up to $88 a day ($44 a day legislators living in Dane County). 

Assembly - up to $138 a day (including overnight) or up to $69 a day (no 

overnight). The maximum number of days per year that per diem can be 

claimed is 80 days. 

Wyoming $150 a day . . . . . . 54/mile. $109 a day (V). Set by legislature.

Source : National Conference of State Legislatures, 2016. 

Key:

C — Calendar day

L — Legislative day

(U) — Unvouchered

(V) — Vouchered

. . . — Not applicable

Notes:

(g) Minnesota. Senate: a reasonable allowance. House: range of $100-$1,650 a month for mileage reimbursement for travel in the legislative district during interim. During session, House 

members can request up to one round trip per week if they live more than 50 miles from the capitol. 

(h) New Hampshire. Round trip home to the State House at 38 cents/mile for the first 45 miles and 19 cents/mile thereafter, or members will be reimbursed for actual expenses and mileage will 

be paid at the federal rate.

(i) Ohio. One roundtrip per week from home to the State House for legislators outside Franklin County only.

(j) South Dakota. 42 cents/mile for one roundtrip from capital to home each weekend. One trip is paid at 5 cents/mile. 

(a) Alabama. The State Personnel Board met on Oct. 27, 2015, and set the median annual household income amount at $42,830. This current median annual household amount will begin on 

January 1, 2016 and will continue through December 31, 2016. 
(b) Alabama. Legislators no longer receive a set per diem rate while in session. Legislators are reimbursed for in-state travel expenses which include mileage and per diem in accordance with 

rates and procedures applicable to state employees. All out-of-district reimbursable travel must be for official business and in the interests of the state or in the performance of official duties, as 

approved by the applicable presiding officer.

(c) Hawaii. Members may claim a mileage reimbursement for reasonable and necessary use of a personal automobile in the conduct of official legislative business and discharge of duties when 

meeting certain criteria.

(d) Maine. Annual cost of living adjustments apply. In addition, legislators receive a constituent service allowance ($2,000 a year for senators and $1,500 a year for representatives).

(e) Maryland. $750 annual allowance for in-district travel as taxable income. Members may decline the allowance.

(f) Massachusetts. $10-$100 a day depending on distance from State House (V). Set by the legislature.DRAFT
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2016 Survey:

Additional Compensation: House/Assembly Leaders

State Presiding Majority Minority

or other jurisdiction officer leader leader Other leaders and committee chairs

Alabama $18,000 a year None None None

Alaska $500 a year None None None

Arizona (a) (a) (a) None

Arkansas $5,600 a year None None None

California $15,016 a year  $7,508 a year $15,016 a year Leaders: $7,508 a year second ranking minority leader.

Committee chairs: None.

Colorado (b) (b) (b) (b)

Connecticut $10,689 a year $8,835 a year $8,835 a year Leaders: $6,446 a year each for deputy speaker, deputy majority leaders, minority leaders, 

assistant majority leaders, assistant minority leaders. $4,241 a year each for majority whips, 

minority whips.   

Committee chairs: $4,241 a year.

Delaware $19,893 a year $12,376 a year $12,376 a year Leaders: $7,794 a year each for majority whips, minority whips.

Committee chairs: $11,459 a year joint finance chair. $4,578 a year each for capital 

improvement chair and vice chair, sunset chair.

Florida $11,484 a year None None None

Georgia $6,811 a month $200 a month $200 a month Leaders: $400 a month for speaker pro tem. $200 a month for governor’s floor leader. $100 

a month for assistant floor leader. 

Committee chairs: None.

Hawaii $7,500 a year None None None

Idaho $4,000 a year None None None

Illinois $27,477 a year $23,230 a year $18,067 a year Leaders: $19,792 a year each for deputy majority leaders, deputy minority leaders. $18,067 

a year each for assistant majority leaders, assistant minority leaders. 

Committee chairs: $10,326 a year each for chairs, minority committee spokespersons.DRAFT
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State Presiding Majority Minority

or other jurisdiction officer leader leader Other leaders and committee chairs

Indiana $7,000 a year $5,500 a year $5,500 a year Leaders: $5,500 a year majority caucus chair. $5,000 a year speaker pro tem. $4,500 a year 

each for minority floor leader, minority caucus chair. $4,000 a year majority whip. $3,500 a 

year assistant majority floor leaders. $3,000 a year minority whip. $2,000 a year each for 

deputy speaker pro tem, assistant majority caucus chairs, assistant majority whips. $1,500 a 

year each for assistant minority leader, assistant minority floor leader, assistant minority 

caucus chair, assistant minority whip. (Ind. P.L. 213—2015)

Committee chairs: $5,500 a year ways and means chair. $4,000 a year ways and means vice 

chair. $3,500 a year ways and means committee ranking minority member. $3,000 a year 

ways and means budget subcommittee chair. $1,500 a year each for ways and means k-12 

subcommittee chair, ways and means higher ed. subcommittee chair. $1,000 a year each 

for 22 other committee chairs. If an officer fills more than one (1) leadership position, the 

officer may be paid for each of the paid positions. (Ind. P.L. 213—2015).

Iowa $11,593 a year $11,593 a year $11,593 a year Leaders: $1,243 a year speaker pro tem. 

Committee chairs: None.  

Kansas $14,039 a year $12,665 a year $12,665 a year Leaders: $7,165 a year each for speaker pro tem, assistant majority leaders, assistant 

minority leaders. 

Committee chairs: $11,290 a year appropriation chair.

Kentucky $47.35 a day $37.40 a day $37.40 a day Leaders: $28.66 a day each for majority caucus chairs & whips, minority caucus chairs & 

whips.  

Committee chairs: $18.71 a day for standing committees only.

Louisiana $15,200 a year None None Leaders: $7,700 a year speaker pro tem. 

Committee chairs: None

Maine 50% of base salary 25% of base salary 12.5% of base salary None

Maryland $13,766 a year None None None

Massachusetts $35,000 a year $22,500 a year $22,500 a year Leaders: $15,000 a year each for speaker pro tem, assistant majority leaders, assistant 

minority leaders. 

Committee chairs: $25,000 a year ways and means chairs. $7,500-$15,000 a year other 

committee chairs.

Michigan $27,000 a year Position does not exist $22,000 a year Leaders: $12,000 a year majority floor leader. $10,000 a year minority floor leader. $5,513 a 

year speaker pro tem.

Committee chairs: $6,300 a year for apppropriation chairs.

Minnesota $12,455 a year $12,455 a year $12,455 a year None

Mississippi $50,000 a year None None Leaders: $5,000 a year speaker pro tem.  

Committee chairs: None.

Missouri $208.34 a month $125 a month $125 a month None

Montana $5 a day during session None None None

Nebraska N/A—Unicameral legislature ----------------------------------------------

Nevada $2 a day None None None

New Hampshire $50 a 2-year term. None None None

New Jersey 1/3 above annual base salary None None None

New Mexico None None None None

New York $41,500 a year $34,500 a year $34,500 a year Leaders: $9,000–$25,000 a year for 31 leaders.  Set in statute.

Committee chairs: $9,000-$34,000 a year for chairs and ranking minority members of 

committees. No member may receive more than one allowance for leaders or committee 

chairs and ranking minority members. Set in statute.

North Carolina $24,200 a year $3,097 a year $3,097 a year Leaders: $7,788 a year speaker pro tem. 

Committee chairs: None.
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State Presiding Majority Minority

or other jurisdiction officer leader leader Other leaders and committee chairs

North Dakota $10 a day during session $15 a day during session, 

plus $345 a month during 

term of office.

$15 a day during session, 

plus $345 a month during 

term of office.

Leaders: $10 a day for assistant leaders during session. 

Committee chairs: $10 a day for all substantive standing committees.

Ohio $33,853 a year $20,579 a year majority 

floor leader.

$25,581 a year Leaders: $25,581 a year speaker pro tem. $18,084 a year assistant majority floor leader. 

$10,589 a year majority whip. $5,591 a year assistant majority whip. $2,797 a year assistant 

minority whip.  

Committee chairs: $10,000 a year finance chair. $6,500 a year each for finance ranking 

minority member, finance committee standing subcommittee chair, all other standing 

committee chairs. $5,500 a year finance vice chair. $5,000 a year each for ranking minority 

member finance standing subcommittee, vice chairs, ranking minority members, standing 

subcommittee chairs. $2,500 a year standing subcommittee ranking minority members.

Oklahoma $17,932 a year $12,364 a year $12,364 a year Leaders: $12,364 a year speaker pro tem.  

Committee chairs: $12,364 a year each for app. chair, budget chair.

Oregon $23,568 a year None None None

Pennsylvania $47,880 a year $38,306 a year $38,306 a year Leaders: $29,071 a year each for majority whips, minority whips. $18,126 a year each for 

majority caucus chairs, minority caucus chairs. $11,971 a year each for majority caucus 

secretaries, minority caucus secretaries, majority policy chairs, minority policy chairs, 

majority caucus administrative, minority caucus administrative.  

Committee chairs: None

Rhode Island $15,414 a year None None None

South Carolina $11,000 a year None None Leaders: $3,600 a year speaker pro tem. 

Committee chairs: None.

South Dakota None None None None

Tennessee $41,768 a year None None None

Texas None None None None

Utah $5,000 a year $3,000 a year $3,000 a year Leaders: $3,000 a year each for whips, assistant whips.  

Committee chairs: $2,000 a year executive appropriation chair.

Vermont $11,296 a year. $730.66 a week 

during session. 

None None None

Virginia $18,681 a year None None None

Washington $8,640 a year; increases to 

$8,899 a year eff. 9/1/2016.

None $4,320 a year; increases to 

$4,449 a year eff. 9/1/2016.

None

West Virginia $150 a day during session. $50 a day during session. $50 a day during session Leaders: $150 a day (up to 30 days) for a maximum of six additional persons named by 

presiding officer. 

Committee chairs: $150.00 a day (up to 30 days) finance and judiciary chairs.

Wisconsin $25 a month None None None

Wyoming $3 a day None None None

Source:  National Conference of State Legislatures, 2016.

Notes:

(a) Arizona. Generally approved for additional interim per diem.

(b) Colorado. All leaders receive $99 a day salary during interim when in attendance at committee or leadership matters.
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2016 Survey:

Additional Compensation: State Senate Leaders

Presiding Majority Minority

State officer leader leader Other leaders and committee chairs

Alabama Lieutenant governor holds this 

position.  

None None None

Alaska $500 a year None None None

Arizona  (a) (a) (a) None

Arkansas Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 

None None  $5,600 a year president pro tem.

California Lieutenant governor holds this 

position.  

$7,508 a year majority floor leader $15,061 a year $15,016 a year president pro tem. $7,508 a year second ranking minority 

leader.

Colorado (b) (b) (b) (b)

Connecticut Lieutenant governor holds this 

position.

$8,835 a year $8,835 a year Leaders: $10,689 a year president pro tem. $6,446 a year each for deputy 

majority leaders, deputy minority leaders. $4,241 a year each for assistant 

majority leaders, assistant minority leaders, majority whips, minority whips.  

Committee chairs: $4,241 a year.

Delaware Lieutenant governor holds this 

position.

$12,376 a year $12,376 a year Leaders: $19,983 a year president pro tem. $7,794 a year each for majority 

whips, minority whips.  

Committee chairs: $11,459 a year joint finance chair. $4,578 a year each for 

capital improvement chair and vice chair, sunset chair.

Florida $11,484 a year None None None

Georgia Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 

$200 a month $200 a month Leaders: $400 a month president pro tem. $200 a month administration 

floor leader. $100 a month assistant administration floor leader.

Committee chairs: None.

Hawaii $7,500 a year None None None

Idaho Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 

None None None

Illinois $27,477 a year $20,650 a year $27,477 a year Leaders: $20,650 a year each for assistant majority leaders, assistant 

minority leaders, majority caucus chairs, minority caucus chairs.  

Committee chairs: $10,326 a year each for all chairs, minority committee 

spokespersons.
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Presiding Majority Minority

State officer leader leader Other leaders and committee chairs

Indiana Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 

$5,500 a year for majority floor 

leader

$6,000 a year minority floor leader Leaders: $7,000 a year president pro tem. $5,500 a year majority caucus 

chair. $5,000 a year each for minority caucus chair, assistant minority floor 

leader $4,000 a year majority whip. $3,500 a year assistant majority floor 

leader. $3,000 a year assistant president pro tem. $2,500 a year majority 

floor leader emeritus. $2,000 a year assistant majority whip, minority whips. 

$1,500 a year each for minority leader emeritus, assistant majority caucus 

chairs. $1,000 a year each for assistant minority whip, assistant minority 

caucus chairs.  (Ind. P.L. 213—2015).

Committee chairs: $5,500 a year each for apppropriation chair, tax & fiscal 

policy chair. $2,000 a year each for appropriation ranking majority member, 

tax & fiscal policy ranking majority member, appropriation ranking minority 

member, tax & fiscal policy ranking minority member. $1,000 a year each 

for 21 other committee chairs. If an officer fills more than one leadership 

position, the officer shall be paid for the higher paid position. (Ind. P.L. 

213—2015).

Iowa $11,593 a year $11,593 a year $11,593 a year Leaders: $1,243 a year president pro tem.  

Committee chairs: None.

Kansas $14,039 a year $12,666 a year  $12,666 a year Leaders: $7,165 a year each for vice president, assistant majority leaders, 

assistant minority leaders  

Committee chairs: $11,290 a year w&m chair.

Kentucky $47.35 a day $37.40 a day $37.40 a day Leaders: $28.66 a day each for majority caucus chairs, minority caucus 

chairs, majority caucus whips, minority caucus whips.  

Committee chairs: $18.71 a day for standing committees only.

Louisiana $15,200 a year None None Leaders: $7,700 a year president pro tem.  

Committee chairs: $11,200 a year each for joint budget chair and vice-chair.

Maine 50% of base salary a year 25% of base salary a year 12.5% of base salary a year None

Maryland $13,766 a year None None None

Massachusetts $35,000 a year $22,500 a year $22,500 a year Leaders: $15,000 a year each for president pro tem, assistant majority 

leaders, assistant minority leaders  

Committee leaders: $25,000 a year w&m chair. $7,500-$15,000 a year each 

for other committee chairs.

Michigan Lieutenant governor holds this 

position.

$23,400 a year $19,800 a year Leaders: $10,800 a year majority floor leader. $9,000 a year minority floor 

leader $4,962 a year president pro tem.   

Committee chairs: $6,300 a year app. chairs.

Minnesota None $12,455 a year $12,455 a year Leaders: $4,151 a year majority whip.  

Committee chairs: $4,151 a year each for tax chair, finance chair.

Mississippi Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 

None None $5,000 a year president pro tem

Missouri Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 

None None None

Montana $5 a day during session None None None

Nebraska Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 

None None None
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Presiding Majority Minority

State officer leader leader Other leaders and committee chairs

Nevada Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 

None None None

New Hampshire $50 a 2 year term None None None

New Jersey 1/3 above annual base salary None None None

New Mexico Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 

None None None

New York Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 

(c) $34,500 a year Leaders: $41,500 a year president pro tem. $34,000 a year each for vice 

president pro tem, deputy majority leader.  $13,000–$27,500 a year for 20 

other leaders. Set in statute.

Committee chairs: $9,000-$34,000 a year each for chairs, ranking minority 

members. No member may receive more than one allowance for leaders or 

committee chairs and ranking minority members. Set in statute.

North Carolina Lieutenant governor holds this 

position.

$17,048 a year $17,048 a year Leaders: $38,151 a year president pro tem. $21,739 a year deputy president 

pro tem.  

Committee chairs: None

North Dakota Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 

$15 a day during legislative sessions, 

plus $345 a month during term of 

office.

$15 a day during legislative sessions, 

plus $345 a month during term of 

office.

Leaders: $10 a day during session assistant leaders.  

Committee chairs: $10 a day all substantive standing committees.

Ohio $33,853 a year $20,579 a year majority floor leader $25,581 a year Leaders: $25,581 a year president pro tem. $18,084 a year majority whip. 

$2,797 a year assistant minority whip. 

Committee chairs: $10,000 a year fin. chair. $6,500 a year each for finance 

ranking minority member, finance standing subcommittee chair, all other 

standing committee chairs. $5,500 a year finance vice chair.  $5,000 a year 

each for ranking minority member of finance standing subcommittee, vice-

chairs, ranking minority members, standing subcommittee chairs. $2,500 a 

year standing subcommittee ranking minority members.

Oklahoma Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 

$12,364 a year $12,364 a year Leaders: $17,932 a year president pro tem. 

Committee chairs: $12,364 a year each for appropriation chair, budget 

chair.

Oregon $23,568 a year None None None

Pennsylvania Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 

$38,306 a year $38,306 a year Leaders: $47,880 a year president pro tem. $29,071 a year majority whips, 

minority whips. $18,126 a year each for majority caucus chairs, minority 

caucus chairs. $11,971 a year each for majority caucus secretaries, minority 

caucus secretaries, majority policy chairs, minority policy chairs, majority 

caucus administrator, minority caucus administrator.

Committee chairs: $29,071 a year each for majority appropriation chair, 

minority appropriation chair.

Rhode Island $15,414 a year None None None

South Carolina Lieutenant governor holds this 

position

None None Leaders: $11,000 a year president pro tem. 
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Presiding Majority Minority

State officer leader leader Other leaders and committee chairs

South Dakota Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 

None None None

Tennessee $41,768 a year None None None

Texas Lieutenant governor holds this 

position. 

None None None

Utah $3,000 a year $2,000 a year $2,000 a year Leaders: $2,000 a year each for majority whips, minority whips, assistant 

majority whips, assistant minority whips.  

Committee leaders: $2,000 a year executive appropriation chair.

Vermont Lieutenant governor holds this 

position.

None None Leaders: $11,296 a year, plus $730.66 a week during session president pro 

tem. 

Committee chairs: None

Virginia None None None None

Washington Lieutenant governor holds this 

position

$8,640 a year increases to $8,899 a 

year eff. 9/1/2016

$4,320 a year increases to $4,449 a 

year eff. 9/1/2016

None

West Virginia $150 a day during session. $50 a day during session $50 a day during session Leaders: $150 a day (up to 30 days) for a maximum of six additional persons 

named by presiding officer. 

Committee chairs: $150 a day (up to 30 days) finance and judiciary chairs.

Wisconsin None None None None

Wyoming $3 a day None None None

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures, 2016.

Key:

Lieutenant governor - lieutenant governor who is not a member of the Senate.

Notes:

(a) Arizona. Generally approved for additional interim per diem.

(b) Colorado. All leaders receive $99 a day salary during interim when in attendance at committee or leadership matters.

(c) New York. This position is combined with the position of president pro tem.
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2016 Survey - 

Legislative Compensation: Office and Phone 

State or other Legislator's compensation for Phone 

jurisdiction office supplies, district offices and staffing allowance

Alabama None, although annual appropriation to certain positions may be so allocated. Yes O.S.B. 

Alaska Senate—$20,000 a year per senator for postage, stationery and other legislative 

expenses. Staffing allowance determined by rules and presiding officers, 

depending on time of year.

House—$16,000 a year per representative for postage, stationery and other 

legislative expenses. Staffing allowance determined by rules and presiding officers, 

depending on time of year.

Yes O.S.B. 

Arizona None (a)

Arkansas Up to $3,600 a year additional reimbursement for committee chairs, vice chairs 

and standing subcommittee chairs.

No

California Senate—member expenses are paid directly and maintained by the Senate Rules 

Committee. Assembly—$263,000 members' base allowance.  

No

Colorado None Yes O.S.B. 

Connecticut Senate—$5,500 a year per senator. 

House—$4,500 a year per representative.

No

Delaware $7,332 a year expense allowance. No

Florida Senate—$2,921 a month district office expenses. House—$2,482 a month district 

office expenses. 

(b)

Georgia $7,000 a year reimbursable expense account for personal services, office 

equipment, rent, supplies, transportation, telecommunications, etc. 

No

Hawaii Senate—$350-$500 a day staffing allowance. 

House—$5,000–$7,500 a month allocation for session staffing. 

O.S.B. 

Idaho $2,500 a year for unvouchered constituent expense. No

Illinois Senate—$83,063 a year office expenses, including district offices and staffing.

House—$69,409 a year office expenses, including district offices and staffing.

No

Indiana None No

Iowa $300 a month district constituency postage, travel, telephone and other expenses. No

Kansas $7,083 a year. Staffing allowances vary for leadership. Yes 

Kentucky $1,789 a year district expenses during interim. No

Louisiana $500 a month expenses in connection with holding office. $1,500 a month 

supplemental allowance for vouchered office expenses, rent and travel mileage in 

district. $2,000-$3,000 a month staff allowance.

Yes (c)

Maine None. However, supplies for staff offices are provided and paid for out of general 

legislative account.

Yes (d)
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State or other Legislator's compensation for Phone 

jurisdiction office supplies, district offices and staffing allowance

Maryland $18,965 a year normal expenses of a district office with limits on staffing, postage, 

telephone and publications. $6,200-$15,500 a year staff salaries & operating 

expenses. $16,325-$18,325 a year in lieu of institutionally provided administrative 

assistant to House members.

No

Massachusetts $7,200 a year office expenses. No

Michigan Senate—$51,900 a year office budget per senator. 

House—$102,000 a year office allowance per majority member.  $99,000 a year 

office allowance per minority member.

Yes O.S.B. 

Minnesota None Yes (e)

Mississippi $1,500 a month out of session. No

Missouri Up to $700 a month reasonable and necessary business expenses. Yes (f)

Montana None Leaders only

Nebraska None Yes O.S.B. 

Nevada Leaders: $900 each regular session and $64 each special session for postage, 

telephone tolls, and other communications charges for speaker, speaker pro tem, 

majority leader, minority leader president, president pro tem, majority floor 

leader, minority floor leader

Senate and House Committee chairs: $900 each regular session and $64 each 

special session for postage, telephone tolls, and other communications charges. 

Any chair who would otherwise qualify for more than one allowance is entitled 

only to one allowance.

Yes (g)

New Hampshire None No

New Jersey $1,250 office supplies. Equipment and furnishings supplied through a district office 

program. $110,000 a year district office personnel.  State provides stationery for 

each legislator and 10,000 postage stamps.

No

New Mexico None No

New York Allowances are provided for in Senate Rule X, Sec. 8-10 and Assembly Rule V, Sec. 

9. 

No response

North Carolina Leaders: $16,956 a year expense allowance each for president pro tem, speaker.  

$10,032 a year expense allowance each for deputy president pro tem, speaker pro 

tem. $7,992 a year expense allowance each for majority leaders, minority leaders. 

Non-leaders: $6,708 a year any legislative expenses not otherwise provided. 

$2,275 a year postage, stationery and telephone. 

(h)

North Dakota None Yes (i)

Ohio None Yes O.S.B. 

Oklahoma $1,500 a year office expenses and electronic communications such as cell phone 

bills.

(j)

Oregon $69,952 per biennium for interim expenses. $37,662 session staffing. $2,736 

session services and supplies. $450-750 a month interim district allowance, 

depending on geographic size of district.

Yes O.S.B. 

Pennsylvania Staffing is determined by leadership. No

Rhode Island None No

South Carolina $1,000 a month each member district expenses. $650/interim committee chairs 

expense allowance. $3,400 a year Senate postage, stationery and telephone. 

$1,800 a year House telephone. $700 a year House postage.

(k)

South Dakota None Yes (l)

Tennessee $1,000 a month expenses in district. Yes (m)

Texas Allowance for staff salaries, supplies, stationery, postage, district office rental, 

telephone expense, etc. 

No
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State or other Legislator's compensation for Phone 

jurisdiction office supplies, district offices and staffing allowance

Utah None Yes (n)

Vermont None Yes 

Virginia Leaders: $76,377 a year staffing allowance. $1,750 a month office expense 

allowance. 

Legislators: $56,100 a year staffing allowance. $1,250 a month office expense 

allowance.

No

Washington $7,800 a year for legislative expenses, for which the legislator has not been 

otherwise entitled to reimbursement.  No staffing allowance.

Yes O.S.B. 

West Virginia None Yes

Wisconsin Senate—$214,950 a 2-year period staffing allowance. $55,955 a 2-year period 

office expenses.  

Assembly—$15,000 a 2-year session office expenses.

(o)

Wyoming $750 a quarter through constituent service allowance. No

Source : National Conference of State Legislatures, 2016.

Key:

(U) — Unvouchered.

(V) — Vouchered.

O.P.— Optional at legislator's expense.

O.S.B.— Official state or legislative business only.

S.A.— Same as state employees. 

S.P. — State pays full amount.

S.P.P.— State pays portion and legislator pays portion.

Notes:

(a) Arizona. Phone cards allowed for certain districts; none used at this time.

(b) Florida. May pay for phone service from district funds.

(c) Louisiana. District office line with one extension.

(d) Maine. Pre-paid phone cards issued and administered by the Senate and House.

(e) Minnesota. $200 a month Senate communication reimbursement. $125 a month House communications allowance. 

(f) Missouri. Up to $50 a month for data plan only.

(g) Nevada. $2,800 a session allowance. $300 each special session.

(m) Tennessee. In-state long distance only.

(n) Utah. State-paid mobile phone or reimbursement for personal phone at same rate as state-paid plan.

(o) Wisconsin. Included in office allowance.

(h) North Carolina. Included in office allowance.

(i) North Dakota. Legislative Council members or committee chairs only.

(j) Oklahoma. Included in office allowance.

(k) South Carolina. Included in office allowance.

(l) South Dakota. Phone cards. DRAFT
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2016 Survey:

State Legislative Retirement Benefits

State or other Requirements for Employee contribution

jurisdiction Participation regular retirement rate Benefit formula

Alabama None available. 

Alaska Optional Four tiers. Varies depending upon tier. 

Detailed information set forth in 

Public Employees' Retirement System 

(PERS) plan comparison chart.

Four tiers. Varies depending upon 

tier. Detailed information set forth 

in Public Employees' Retirement 

System (PERS) plan comparison 

chart.

Four tiers. Varies depending upon tier. Detailed information set forth in 

Public Employees' Retirement System (PERS) plan comparison chart.

Arizona Mandatory except that 

officials subject to term 

limits may opt out for a term 

of office.

AZ SB 1609 of 

2011—Contribution 

requirements affect all 

members; benefit and 

eligibility requirements 

affect those elected after 

January 1, 2012.

Age 65 with 5+ years of service; age 

62 with 10+ years of service; or 20 

years of service; earlier retirement 

with an actuarial reduction of 

benefits. Vesting at 5 years.

AZ SB 1609 of 2011—For those 

elected to office after 1/1/2012. Age 

65 with 5+ years of service; age 62 

with 10+ years of service. Vesting at 5 

years. No provision for retirement 

after 20 years or for early retirement.

7% employee 

AZ SB 1609 of 2011—2011 

legislation increases contribution 

rates in annual steps from the 

present 7% of gross salary to, in FY 

2014, 13% or an actuarially based 

calculation, which can be revised. 

Affects all members. Newly elected 

officials as of 1/1/14 pay a rate of 

8%.

4% x years of credited service x highest 3 year average in the past 10 years 

The benefit is capped at 80% of FAS. An elected official may purchase 

service credit in the plan for service earned in a non-elected position by 

buying it at an actuarially determined amount.

AZ SB 1609 0f 2011—For those elected to office after 1/1/2012: 3% x 

years of credited service x highest 5 year average in the past 10 years. The 

benefit is capped at 75% of FAS.

Arkansas Optional. Those elected 

before 7/1/99 may have 

service covered as a regular 

state employee but must 

have 5 years of regular 

service to do so.

Age 65 with 10 years of service; 

55/12; any age with 28 years of 

service; any age if serving in the 

General Assembly on 7/1/79; any age 

if in elected office on 7/1/79 with 17 

and 1/2 years of service. As a regular 

employee, 65/5 or any age/28 years. 

Members of the contributory plan 

established in 2005 must have a 

minimum of 10 years legislative 

service if they have only legislative 

state employment.

Non-contributory plan in effect for 

those elected before 2006. For those 

elected then and thereafter, a 

contributory plan that requires 5% 

of salary.

For service that began after 7/1/99: 2.07% x FAS x years of service FAS 

based on three highest consecutive years of service. For service that began 

after July 1, 1991, $35 x years of service = monthly benefit. For 

contributory plan, 2% x FAS x years of service.

California  Legislators elected after 

1990 are not eligible for 

retirement benefits for 

legislative service.
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State or other Requirements for Employee contribution

jurisdiction Participation regular retirement rate Benefit formula

Colorado Mandatory PERA: age 65 with 5 years of service; 

age 50 with 30 years of service; when 

age + service equals 80 or more (min. 

age of 55). State Defined Contribution 

Plan (DCP): no age requirement and 

immediate vesting.

Employee: 8% PERA: 2.5% x FAS x years of service, capped at 100% of FAS. DCP benefit 

depends upon contributions and investment return.

Connecticut Mandatory Age 60 with 25 years credited service; 

age 62 with 10-25 years credited 

service; age 62 with 5 years actual 

state service. 

If elected after 2011—age 63 with 25 

years of vesting service or age 65 with 

10-25 years of vesting service. 

Reduced benefit available with earlier 

retirement ages.

Employee 2% (1.33% x average annual salary) + (5% x average salary over "breakpoint”) 

x credited service up to 35 years; 2003—$36,400; 2004—$38,600; 

2005—$40,900; 2006—$43,400; 2007—$46,000; 2008—$48,800; 

2009—$51,700. After 2009—increase breakpoint by 6% per year rounded 

to nearest $100.

Delaware Mandatory. 

DE HB 81 of 

2011—Mandatory for those 

elected after January 1, 

2012.

Age 60 with 5 years of credited 

service; or 55 with 10 years of service. 

DE HB 81 of 2011—65 with 10 years 

of service; or 60 with 20 years of 

service. Vesting at 10 years.

3% of annual compensation in 

excess of $6,000.

DE HB 81 of 2011—5% of annual 

compensation in excess of $6,000.

2% times FAS times years of service before 1997 + 1.85% times FAS times 

years of service from 1997 on. FAS = average of highest 3 years.

Florida Optional. Elected officials 

may opt out or may choose 

between DB and DC plans.

FL SB 2100 of 2011—SB 2100 

affects those enrolled in the 

elected officers’ class on or 

after July 1, 2011, except for 

a contribution requirement 

for all members.

Vesting in DB plan—6 years. Age 62 

with 6 years; 30 years at any age. 

Changed in 2011 to age 62 without a 

service minimum. Vesting in DC 

plan—1 year, any age.

FL SB 2100 of 2011—vesting in DB 

plan, 8 years. Retirement eligibility at 

age 65 or with 33 years of service at 

any age. No changes affecting the DC 

plan.  

Employee contribution is 3%; 

employer contribution is 45.8%

DB plan—3% x years of creditable service x average final compensation 

(average of highest 5 years). DC plan—dependent upon investment 

experience.

FL SB 2100 of 2011—Unchanged for the DB plan except that for those 

enrolled in the system after July 1, 2011, average final compensation will 

be based on the highest 8 years.

Georgia Optional; choice when first 

elected.

Vested after 8 years. Age 62 with 8 

years of service; age 60 with reduction 

for early retirement.

Employee: 3.75% + $7/m. $36/month for each year of service. Post-retirement benefit increases are 

not available to any person who joins the system after July 1, 2009.

Hawaii Mandatory. HI Act 163 of 

2011—Act 163 affects For 

those who enter the plan 

after July 1, 2012.

Vesting at 5 years. Age 55 with 5 years 

of service, any age with 10 years of 

service. 

HI Act 163 of 2011—vesting at 10 

years. Any age with 10 years of 

service.

Main plan is noncontributory; 7.8% 

for elected officials’ plan for annuity.

HI Act 163 of 2011—Contribution 

rate of 9.8%.

3.5% x years of service as elected official x highest average salary plus 

annuity based on contributions as an elected official. Highest average 

salary = average of 3 highest 12-month periods as elected official. Annual 

COLA of 2.5%.

HI Act 163 of 2011—Multiplier for elected officials’ reduced from 3.5% to 

3.0%; COLA reduced from 2.5% annually to 1.5%. 

Idaho Mandatory; same plan as 

public employees (PERSI)

Age 65 with 5 years of service; 

reduced benefit at age 55 with 5 years 

of service.

6.79% paid by member, 11.32% paid 

by employer.

Average monthly salary for highest 42 consecutive months x 2% x months 

of credited service.
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State or other Requirements for Employee contribution

jurisdiction Participation regular retirement rate Benefit formula

Illinois Optional; not the same as 

the State Employees' 

Retirement System. Only 

state senators, 

representatives and 

statewide elected officials 

have the option to 

participate.

Tier 1—age 55 with 8 years of service 

or age 62 with 4 years of service. 

Tier 2—age 67 with 8 years of service 

or age 62 with 8 years of service 

reduced 1/2 of 1% for each month.

Tier 1—11.5% of salary (includes 

contributions for retirement annuity 

and survivors annuity) or 9.5% of 

salary as contributions for just 

retirement annuity (no survivor 

annuity).

Tier 2—the same with the exception 

Tier 2 members only pay 

contributions on their salary up to 

the maximum salary for annuity 

purposes. In 2016 the maximum 

salary for annuity purposes is 

$115,480.89 (currently no legislators 

have salaries that exceed the 

maximum salary).

Tier 1—First 4 years x 3.0% = 12%; next 2 years x 3.5% = 7.0%; next 2 years 

x 4.0% = 8.0%; next 4 years x 4.5% = 18.0%; next 8 years x 5.0% = 40.0%.

Tier 2—3% for each year of service.

Indiana DB plan was mandatory for 

those serving before April 

30, 1989, except that those 

serving on that day could opt 

to transfer to the DC plan. 

Defined contribution has 

been mandatory for those 

elected or appointed since 

4/30/89.

DB plan—vesting at 10 years. Age 65 

with 10 years of legislative service; or, 

if no longer in the legislature, these 

options apply: at least 10 years of 

service; no state salary; at age 55+ 

Rule of 85 applies; or age 60 with 15 

years of service. Early retirement with 

reduced benefit. 

DC plan—immediate vesting. 

DB plan—funded by employer and 

employee contributions.

DC plan—5% employee, 20% state 

(of taxable income) through 2009. At 

present, the contribution is 

recalculated annually not to exceed 

the state contribution to the 

employee retirement plan.

DB plan—monthly benefit: Lesser of (a) $40 x years of General Assembly 

service completed before 11/8/89; or (b) 1/12 of the average of the three 

highest consecutive years of General Assembly service salary.

DC plan—numerous options for withdrawing accumulations in accord with 

IRS regulations. Loans are available. A participant in both plans may 

receive a benefit from both plans.

Iowa Optional Age 65; age 62 with 20 years of 

service; Rule of 88; reduced benefit at 

55 with at least 4 years of service.

5.95 % individual. 2% times FAS. x years of service for first 30 years, + 1% times FAS times 

years in excess of 30 but no more than 5 in excess of 30. FAS is average of 

3 highest years.

Kansas Optional for legislators and 

employees of the legislator 

leadership offices. 

Mandatory for all other 

regular, full time employees.

Age 65; age 62 with 5 years of service, 

or when age plus years of service 

equals 85.

6% (base may include salary, per 

diem, non-session allowance, 

session expenses; or various 

combinations at the legislator's 

option.)

3 highest years x 1.75% x years of. service ÷ 12= monthly benefit.

Kentucky Optional. Those who opt out 

are covered by the state 

employees' plan

Age 65 with 5 years of service; any 

age with 30 years of service, and 

intermediate provisions. Early 

retirement with reduced benefits.

5% of creditable compensation set 

by law at $27,500: not the same as 

actual salary. Revised to be payable 

on compensation reported on W-2 

forms beginning in 2005.

HB 1 of 2008 Special Session—raised 

the contribution level to 6% for 

legislators elected after 7/1/08.

2.75% of FAS (based on creditable compensation) x years of service. FAS is 

the average monthly earnings for the 60 months preceding retirement.

HB 1 of 2008 Special Session—reduced the annual COLA for retired 

legislators from the CPI (capped at 5%) to 1.5% effective on July 1, 2008. 

This applies to current as well as to future retirees. The statutes reserve to 

the legislature the power to make such changes. The amount of the COLA 

may be increased by the legislature if the legislature prefunds the cost of 

the increase.
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State or other Requirements for Employee contribution

jurisdiction Participation regular retirement rate Benefit formula

Louisiana Legislative service for 

legislators elected after 

January 1, 1997, is ineligible 

for State Employee 

Retirement System benefits.  

(LSA-Const. Art. 10, § 29.1)

   

Maine Mandatory Age 60 if 10 years of service on 

7/1/93; age 62 if less than 10 years of 

service on 7/1/93. Reduced benefit 

available for earlier retirement.

7.65% legislators; employer 

contribution is actuarially 

determined.

2% of average final compensation (the average of the 3 high salary years) 

times years of service.

Maryland Optional Age 60 with 8 years; age 50 with 8+ 

years creditable service for early 

reduced retirement.

5% of annual salary. 3% of legislative salary for each year of service up to 22 years 3 months. 

Benefits are recalculated when legislative salaries are changed.

Massachusetts Optional after each election 

or re-election to the General 

Court.

Vesting at 6 years. Age 55 with 6 years 

service; unreduced benefit at 65. 

Reduced benefits for retirement 

before age 65.

9%, although some legislators are 

grandfathered at lower rates.

2.5 times years of service times FAS. FAS = average of highest 36 months. 

Service credit is allowed for membership in other Massachusetts 

retirement plans. 

Michigan Optional Age 55 with 5 years or when age plus 

years of service equal 70. Employee 

contributions are immediately vested. 

Employer contributions are vested as 

follows: Zero after one year; 50% after 

two years; 75% after three years; 

100% after four years.

For legislators elected before 

3/31/97—7-10% for (DB) plan.

Elected after 3/31/97— (DC) plan, 

the state contributes 4% of salary. 

Members may contribute up to 3% 

of salary. The state will match the 

member's contribution in addition to 

the state 4% contribution. 

DB plans—various provisions, depending on when service started. 

DC plan—benefits depend upon contributions and earnings.

Minnesota Mandatory Legislators Retirement Plan (LRP) 

before 7/1/97—62 years with 6 years 

of service and fully vested. LRP 

members do not have Social Security 

coverage.

Defined Contribution Plan (DCP) since 

1997—age 55 and immediate vesting. 

DCP members have Social Security 

coverage.

LRP—9%. 

DCP—5.5% from member, 6% from 

state.

2.7% x high 5 year average salary x years of service. DCP benefits depend 

upon contributions and investment return.

Mississippi Mandatory Age 60 with 4 or more years of 

service, or 25 years of service.

Regular—15.75% state, 9.00% 

member.

Supplemental Legislative Retirement 

Plan—7.40% state, 3.00% member.

Legislators who qualify for regular state retirement benefits also 

automatically qualify for the legislators’ supplemental benefits. 

Regular—2% x average compensation x years of service up to and 

including 25 years of service + 2.5% x average compensation x service in 

excess of 25 years. Average compensation is calculated using the highest 4 

years of compensation. 

Supplement—1% x average compensation x years of legislative service 

through 25 years + 1.25% x average compensation x years of service in 

excess of 25.
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State or other Requirements for Employee contribution

jurisdiction Participation regular retirement rate Benefit formula

Missouri Mandatory. The retirement 

plan for Legislators is 

calculated differently from 

the plan for other state 

employees.  

For those hired on or before 

12/31/2010—vesting at 6 years of 

service. Age 55; service in three full 

biennial assemblies (6 years) or Rule 

of 80. 

For those entering system after 

1/1/2011—vesting at 6 years of 

service. Age 62; service in three full 

biennial assemblies (6 years) or the 

Rule of 90 with a minimum age of 55. 

For those hired on or before 

12/31/2010—non-contributory. 

For those entering system after 

1/1/2011—contribution of 4% of 

salary. 

For those hired on or before 12/31/2010—monthly pay divided by 24 x 

years of creditable service, capped at 100% of salary. Benefit is adjusted 

by the percentage increase in pay for an active legislator. 

For those entering system after 1/1/2011—no change.

Montana Optional Hired before 7/1/11—vesting at 5 

years. Age 60 with at least 5 years 

service; age 65 regardless of years of 

service; or 30 years of service 

regardless of age. 

After 7/1/11—vesting at 5 years. Age 

65 with 5 years service, or age 70.

7.9% employee and 8.37% employer 

for DB and DC plan.

DB plan—Membership Service Factor (see below) x years of Service Credit 

x HAC.

More than 5 years and less than 10 years of membership service—1.5%

Less than 30 years of membership service—1.7857%

30 years or more of membership service—2%

Nebraska None available

Nevada Mandatory, but a legislator, 

within 30 days after he/she 

is first elected or appointed, 

may elect not to participate; 

a decision to terminate 

participation in the plan 

cannot be reversed. The 

legislators' retirement 

system is separate from the 

state employee retirement 

plan.

Must have at least 10 years of service, 

be age 60, and no longer be a 

legislator in order to retire without 

benefit reduction. A legislator who is 

no longer serving, has at least 10 

years of service, but is under the age 

of 60 can elect to wait to receive 

his/her benefit until the age of 60 or 

begin receiving a reduced benefit 

prior to the age of 60.

15% of session salary. Number of years x $25 = monthly allowance.

New Hampshire None available

New Jersey Mandatory Vesting at 8 years. Age 60; no 

minimum service requirement. Early 

retirement with no benefit reduction 

with 25 years of service.

5% of salary 3% x FAS x years of service. FAS = higher of three highest years or three 

final years. Benefit is capped at 2/3 of FAS. Other formulas apply if a 

legislator also has other service covered by the Public Employee 

Retirement System.

New Mexico Optional Plans 1A and 1B—age 65 with 5 years 

of service; 64 with 8 years of service; 

63 with 11 years of service; 60 with 12 

years of service; or any age with 14 

years of service.

Plan 2—age 65 with 5 years of service 

or at any age with 10 years of 

legislative service. 

Plan 1A—$100 per year for service 

after 1959.

Plan 1B—$200 per year (now closed 

to new enrollments).

Plan 2—$500 per year. Increased to 

$600 per year by 2012 legislation.

Plan 1A: $250 per year of service.Plan 1B: $500 per year of service after 

1959.Plan 2: 11 percent of the IRS Legislative per diem rate in effect on 

December 31st of the year a legislator retires x 60 x the years of credited 

service. For a legislator who retired in 2111 the benefit would be $1,129 

per year of credited service. Annual 3% COLA.
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State or other Requirements for Employee contribution

jurisdiction Participation regular retirement rate Benefit formula

New York Detailed information set 

forth in Your Retirement 

Plan: Legislative and 

Executive Plan , published by 

New York State Office of the 

State Comptroller.

Detailed information set forth in Your 

Retirement Plan: Legislative and 

Executive Plan , published by New 

York State Office of the State 

Comptroller.

Detailed information set forth in 

Your Retirement Plan: Legislative 

and Executive Plan , published by 

New York State Office of the State 

Comptroller.

Detailed information set forth in Your Retirement Plan: Legislative and 

Executive Plan , published by New York State Office of the State 

Comptroller.

North Carolina Mandatory Age 65 with 5 years of service; 

reduced benefit available at earlier 

ages.

7%. Highest annual compensation x 4.02% x years of service.

North Dakota None available.

Ohio Optional. OPERS offers three 

plans for retirement—the 

traditional plan (a defined 

benefit plan); the member 

directed plan (a defined 

contribution plan); and the 

combined plan. Participation 

in the latter two plans is 

limited to new OPERS 

members and OPERS 

members who had less than 

5 years of service on 

12/31/2002.

Varies depending upon plan.  Detailed 

information set forth in Legislative 

Benefits, Privileges, and Restrictions 

of Office .

Varies depending upon plan.  

Detailed information set forth in 

Legislative Benefits, Privileges, and 

Restrictions of Office .

Varies depending upon plan.  Detailed information set forth in Legislative 

Benefits, Privileges, and Restrictions of Office .

Oklahoma Legislators may retain 

membership as regular 

public employees if they 

have that status when 

elected; one time option to 

join elected officials’ plan. 

SB 794 of 2011—new 

provisions affect people 

elected to office after 

11/1/2011.

Elected Officials’ Plan—vesting at 6 

years. Age 65, or age 60 with 6 years’ 

service. 

SB 794 of 2011—vesting at 8 years. 

Age 65 or age 62 with 10 years of 

membership in the plan. Early 

retirement with reduced benefits at 

age 60 with 10 years of service.

Optional contribution levels—4.5%, 

6%, 7.5%, 8.5%, 9% or 10%, of total 

compensation. 

SB 794 of 2011—schedule of options 

was repealed. Required contribution 

of 3.5% of total compensation.

Average participating salary x length of service x computation factor 

depending on optional contributions ranging from 1.9% for a 4.5% 

contribution to 4% for a 10% contribution. 

S.B. 1641 (Chapter 105, Laws of 2008)—people elected to office on or 

after 7/1/2008: formula described here can apply only to years of service 

as an elected official and can be based only on the higher year of salary 

received as an elected official (not on any subsequent salary from a non-

elective post as was possible under the original provisions). Capped 

benefits at 100% of salary as a member of the OPERS (not clear whether 

this is highest salary as an elected official). 

S.B. 1889 (Chapter 435, Laws of 2010)—reduced the menu of options to 

the highest and lowest, which are shown above, for people elected to 

office after 11/1/2010. Those who fail to make a choice within 90 days of 

taking office default to the highest contribution and computation factor. 

SB 794 of 2011—2% of final average salary times years of service. 

SB 2322 of 2012—members may choose a benefit option of 2.5% of final 

average salary, for which members’ contributions will be increased by an 

amount that will equal the actuarial cost of the increased benefit.
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State or other Requirements for Employee contribution

jurisdiction Participation regular retirement rate Benefit formula

Oregon Optional Normal retirement age for general 

service members is age 65 or age 58 

with 30 years of retirement credit.

OPRSP DC component—employees 

contribute 6% of salary. 

DB component—non-contributory. 

457 plans—members may 

contribute amounts to limits set by 

IRS.

OPRSP individual account component, or DC component—at retirement, 

employees may receive the IAP as a lump-sum payment or in equal 

installments over a 5, 10, 15 or 20-year period. 

DB component—benefit calculation is 1.5 percent x final average salary x 

years of service.

Pennsylvania Optional. Act 120 of 

2010—applies to those who 

become state legislators on 

or after 12/1/2010.

Age 50 with 3 years of service; any 

age with 35 years of service; early 

retirement with reduced benefit. 

Act 120 of 2010—vesting at 10 years. 

Retirement age is 55 with 3 years of 

credited service or according to the 

Rule of 92 with a minimum of 35 

years of service.

6.25%. 

Act 120 of 2010—6.25% or 9.3% 

(member’s choice). Rate will vary 

with actuarial conditions; these are 

minimums.

3% x final average salary x credited years of service (x withdrawal factor if 

under 50), with a maximum benefit of 100% of FAS. 

Act 120 of 2010—new legislators may choose between plans with 

different contribution rates. The multiplier for the lower contribution will 

be 2% and for the higher contribution 2.5%. Cap on benefits is unchanged.

Rhode Island Legislators elected before 

January 1995—eligible for a 

pension of $600 a year for 

each year of legislative 

service, capped at an annual 

retirement benefit of 

$12,000. 

Legislators elected after 

January 1995—ineligible to 

earn credit for public 

retirement benefits. 

Different than state 

employee retirement plan.

South Carolina Mandatory (but not available 

to anyone first elected to the 

General Assembly after 

November 2012). 

Act 278, Laws of 

2012—mandatory choice for 

those elected in or after 

November 2012.

Age 60 with 8 years of service. 30 

years of service regardless of age. 

Act 278, Laws of 2012—SCRS: vesting 

at 8 years; retirement benefits at age 

65 with 8 years of service or in accord 

with the Rule of 90. Reduced benefits 

are available at age 60 with 8 years of 

service. ORP: immediate vesting in 

employer contributions.

10% 11% as of January 1, 2013. 

Act 278, Laws of 2012—SCRS: 7% as 

of July 1, 2012, rising to 8% on July 

1, 2014. ORP: 7% + 5% employer 

contribution, immediately vested.

4.82% x earnable compensation x years of service. “Earnable 

compensation" means 40 x the daily rate of remuneration, plus $12,000, 

of a member of the General Assembly, as from time to time in effect. 

Act 278, Laws of 2012—SCRS: 2.25% x years of service x final average 

compensation, which is the average of the member’s 5 highest years of 

earned compensation. ORP: upon retirement a member may annuitize the 

balance in the account or take a lump sum or partial distribution. Federal 

provisions apply.

South Dakota None available.
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State or other Requirements for Employee contribution

jurisdiction Participation regular retirement rate Benefit formula

Tennessee Optional. Age 55, 4 years of service. Members hired before 7/1/14 

participate in a non-contributory 

plan. 

Members hired after 7/1/14 

participate in a contributory plan. 

State contributes 4% toward defined 

benefit, 5% into 401K Member 

contributes 5% toward defined 

benefit, 2% into 401K (can do more 

if so desired).

$85.21 per month x years of service with a cap 90% of final compensation. 

2006 legislation provides for an annual adjustment in the base amount 

(not an annual COLA to recipients) and provides that a legislator may 

reject the increase in writing. $55.00 for those in the contributory plan.

Texas Optional Vesting at 8 years. Age 60 with 8 years 

of service; or age 50 with 12 years of 

service. 

8% 2.3% x district judge’s salary x length of service, with the monthly benefit 

capped at the level of a district judge’s salary, and adjusted when such 

salaries are increased. Various annuity options are available. Military 

service credit may be purchased to add to elective class service 

membership. In September 2013, a district judge’s salary was set at 

$140,000 a year.

Utah Mandatory Age 62 with 10 years and an actuarial 

reduction; age 65 with 4 years of 

service for full benefits. 

2010 legislation closed the Governors' 

and Legislators' Retirement Plan to 

legislators elected after 7/1/2011 and 

replaced it with the New Public 

Employees’ Tier II Contributory 

Retirement Plan Defined Contribution 

Plan. The new DC plan will be a 401(k) 

with distribution of accumulations 

subject to federal rules.

Non-contributory. 

For the DC plan, employer will 

contribute 10% of compensation, 

which will vest after four years of 

service. Employees may, but are not 

required, to contribute.

$24.80/month (as of July 2004) x years of service; adjusted semi-annually 

according to consumer price index up to a maximum increase of 2%. 

For the DC plan, benefits will be based upon accumulations in the 

employee account.

Vermont None  available.  

Deferred compensation plan 

available.

Virginia Mandatory. Eligibility for 

various plans based on 

membership date. Same as 

state employees plan.

Plan 1—Age 50 with 30 years of 

service (unreduced); age 55 with 5 

years of service; age 50 with 10 years 

(reduced). 

Plan 2—When age and service = 90; or 

normal Social Security retirement age 

with 5 years of service (unreduced); 

age 60 with 5 years of service 

(reduced). 

Hybrid plan—When age and service = 

90; or normal Social Security 

retirement age with 5 years of service 

(unreduced); age 60 with 5 years of 

service (reduced).

Plan 1—members who qualify do 

not make an employee contribution. 

Plan 2—5% of creditable 

compensation. 

Hybrid plan—mandatory and 

voluntary contributions to defined 

benefit and defined contribution 

components.

Plan 1—1.7% of average final compensation x years of service (average 

over highest 36 consecutive months).

Plan 2—1.65% of average final compensation x years of service (average 

over highest 60 consecutive months). 

Hybrid plan—1.65% of average final compensation x years of service 

(average over highest 60 consecutive months).
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State or other Requirements for Employee contribution

jurisdiction Participation regular retirement rate Benefit formula

Washington Optional. If before an 

election the legislator 

belonged to a state public 

retirement plan, he or she 

may continue in that plan by 

making contributions. 

Otherwise, new legislators 

may join PERS Plan 2 or Plan 

3.

Plan 2—age 65 with 5 years of service 

credit. 

Plan 3—age 65 with 10 years of 

service credit for the DB side of the 

plan; immediate benefits (subject to 

federal restrictions) on the DC side of 

the plan. The member may choose 

various options for investment of 

contributions to the DC plan.

Plan 2—employee contribution of 

2.43% for 2002. Estimated at 3.33% 

for 2005-2007. 

Plan 3—no required member 

contribution for the DB component. 

The member may contribute from 

5% to 15% of salary to the DC 

component.

Plan 2—2% x years of service credit x average final compensation. 

Plan 3—DB is 1% x service credit years x average final compensation. DC 

benefit depends upon the value of accumulations.

West Virginia Optional Age 55, if years of service + age equal 

80.

Before 10/1/87—7%. 

After 10/1/87—5%.

2% x final average salary x years of service. Final average salary is based on 

3 highest years out of last 10 years.

Wisconsin Wisconsin Retirement 

System (WRS)—mandatory. 

Deferred Compensation 457 

Plan—optional.

Minimum retirement age is 55. 

Normal retirement age is 62. Normal 

retirement age with 30 years of WRS 

service is age 57.

2016 contribution rate is 6.6% of the 

legislator’s salary. The employer 

matches this for a total contribution 

of 13.2%.

Retirement benefit is calculated under both "formula" and “money 

purchase” methods and will receive the higher of the two benefit 

calculations. 

Formula—if terminated prior to the year 2000, may not exceed 65% of the 

final average earnings (highest 3 years of salary), or 70% for 2000 or after. 

(2.165% x years of service x salary for service before 2000; 2% x years of 

service x salary for service 2000 and after). 

Money Purchase Calculation—based only on the dollar balance in WRS 

account and exact age (and therefore life expectancy) when annuity 

begins.

Wyoming None available

Source : National Conference of State Legislatures, March 2016.

Key: 

COLA—Cost of living adjustment.

CPI—Consumer price index.

DB—Defined Benefit

DC—Defined Contribution.

FAS—Final average salary.

None available—no retirement benefit provided.

OPERS—Ohio Public Employee's Retirement System.

OPERS—Oklahoma Public Employee's Retirement System.

OPSRP—Oregon Public Employee's Retirement System.

ORP—South Carolina State Optional Retirement Program.

PERA—Public employee retirement association.  

PERS—Public Employee's Retirement System.

SCRS—South Carolina Retirement System.
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2016 Survey - 

Legislative Compensation: Health, Dental, Vision, Disability and Life Insurance 

State or other

jurisdiction Health Dental Vision Disability insurance Life insurance benefits

Alabama S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P. None None

Alaska S.P.P. S.P.P. O.P., unless included in 

health insurance.

S.A.  Optional; if selected is included 

in health insurance. 

S.A.  Small policy available. Additional is optional at 

legislator’s expense.

Arizona S.A., S.P.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P. S.P.P. S.P.P.

Arkansas S.P.P. (a) O.P. (b) O.P.—supplemental The state pays for $30,000 as part of the health plan. 

Additional is optional at legislators’ expense.

California S.P.P. (b) (b) (b) Senators are covered by a long-term 

disability insurance policy. Assembly 

members do not have disability 

insurance coverage.

Senators are eligible for up to $250,000 term coverage: 

members pay 10% of the age-based premium plus the 

taxable value on coverage above $50,000.  $250,000 term 

policy for the Assembly: members pay 18% of the premium 

plus the taxable value on coverage above $50,000. 

Colorado S.P.P.—Amount differs 

according to plan selected

S.P.P.—Amount 

differs according to 

plan selected

None None S.A. State pays full amount for $12,000 policy. Additional is 

optional at legislator's expense.

Connecticut S.P.P. S.P.P. Some health insurance 

plans include discounts on 

eyewear.

S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P.

Delaware S.P.P. After 3 months, state 

pays entire amount for basic 

plan.

O.P. S.P.P. Only avail. through 

health ins. plan.

None S.A., O.P.

Florida S.A. Legislators pay $50 a 

month for individual 

coverage and $180 a month 

for family coverage.

Dental coverage 

offered to state 

legislators and 

legislative employees.

O.P. S.P. S.A. Basic life insurance is provided for state legislators. 

Additional optional life insurance can be purchased.

Georgia S.P.P. S.P.P. S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P.

Hawaii S.P.P. S.P.P. S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P.

Insurance benefits
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State or other

jurisdiction Health Dental Vision Disability insurance Life insurance benefits

Insurance benefits

Idaho S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P.

Illinois S.P.P. S.P.P. S.P.P. S.P. S.A., S.P.P.

Indiana S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. None S.A.

Iowa S.P.P. S.P.P. S.A.  Legislator pays entire 

premium. 

S.A., S.P. S.A. State pays first $20,000. Additional at legislator 

expense.

Kansas S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P. Legislator 

pays dependent 

portion.

S.A., O.P. S.A., S.P. S.A. 150% of annual salary if part of KPERS. Additional 

insurance is optional at legislator's expense.

Kentucky S.A. O.P. O.P. S.A., O.P. State pays $20,000. Additional is optional at legislator's 

expense.

Louisiana S.P.P.—State pays 50% and 

legislator pays 50%.

S.P.P.—State pays 

50% and legislator 

pays 50%.

O.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., S.P.P.—State pays 50% and legislator pays 50%.

Maine S.A.—State pays up to 100% 

of legislator coverage and 

50% of dependent coverage.

S.A., S.P. O.P. None O.P.

Maryland S.A., S.P.P.—The state pays 

85%, legislator pays 15% for 

HMO, legislator pays 17% for 

POS.

S.A., O.P. Covered under the medical 

plan.

None O.P.

Massachusetts S.P.P. (State currently pays 

80%)

S.P.P. S.P.P. S.A., O.P. S.A. $5,000 policy provided. Additional up to 8 times salary 

at legislator's expense.

Michigan None Offered at different levels as part of cafeteria plan.

Minnesota S.P.P.—The state pays 95% 

for single coverage and 88% 

of family coverage.

S.P.P.—The state 

pays 83% for single 

coverage and 61% for 

family coverage.

S.A. S.A., O.P. S.A. State pays first $35,000. 

Mississippi S.P.—legislator only 

premiums

O.P. None None S.A., S.P.P.—State pays 50% and legislator pays 50%.

Missouri S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P. S.A., S.P.—basic life insurance, 1x annual salary. Additional 

life insurance is optional at legislator’s expense.

Montana S.A., S.P.P.—State pays 

almost full amount for 

individual.

S.A., S.P.P.—State 

pays almost full 

amount for 

individual.

Included in health coverage None State pays $14,000 term policy. Additional at legislator's 

expense.

Nebraska O.P. O.P. O.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P.

Health, vision, life, cancer, prescription, offered via cafeteria plan.
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State or other

jurisdiction Health Dental Vision Disability insurance Life insurance benefits

Insurance benefits

Nevada S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P.

New Hampshire O.P. O.P. None None None

New Jersey S.A.—Members appointed or 

elected after 5/21/10 are not 

eligible for coverage.

S.A.—Members 

appointed or elected 

after 5/21/10 are not 

eligible for coverage.

S.A.—Members appointed 

or elected after 5/21/10 

are not eligible for 

coverage.

Temporary disability 

insurance—none. Permanent 

disability—if enrolled in pension 

plan.

Members enrolled in the pension plan—up to three times 

annual salary. Members enrolled in defined contribution 

plan—one and a half times annual salary. Members not 

covered by either plan—no death benefit.

New Mexico None None None None None

New York No response No response No response No response No response

North Carolina S.P. Family coverage optional 

at legislator’s expense.

O.P. O.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P.

North Dakota S.P.—if legislator chooses 

state health plan.

O.P. O.P. S.A., O.P. S.A. State pays for $3,500 term life policy.

Ohio S.P.P.—The state pays 85%, 

and legislators pay 15%

S.P. (c) S.P. (c) None S.P.—once member has one year or more of continuous 

state service. Policy equal to the member’s annual salary 

(rounded to the next higher multiple of $1,000). 

Supplemental and dependent life insurance is optional at 

legislator’s expense. 

Oklahoma Up to $641 a month 

allowance for all benefits for 

member and up to $1,678 a 

month for member plus 

spouse and children.

S.A. State pays basic life for $20,000. Supplemental life is 

optional at legislator's expense.

Oregon S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P. 

Pennsylvania (d) (d) (d) None Group life policy up to amount of salary.

Rhode Island S.A. S.A.  S.A.  S.A., O.P.  S.A., O.P.  

Included in health benefit DRAFT
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State or other

jurisdiction Health Dental Vision Disability insurance Life insurance benefits

Insurance benefits

South Carolina S.P.P. S.P.P. S.A., O.P. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P.

South Dakota None None None S.P.—accidental 

death/dismemberment ins. only.

None

Tennessee S.P.P.—State pays 80%, 

legislator pays 20%.

O.P. O.P. None S.A. State pays first $20,000 of the basic life insurance; 

remainder paid by legislator. 

Texas S.A., S.P. O.P. Included in health 

coverage.

S.A., O.P. S.A., O.P.

Utah S.P.P. S.P.P. Optional group discounts. S.A., S.P. S.A., S.P.—State pays full premium for $25,000 basic term 

life coverage.

Vermont None None None None None

Virginia S.A., S.P.P. S.A. S.A. None S.A., S.P.—The state pays for basic group life insurance. 

Optional Life Insurance (up to 4x salary) available at 

legislator's expense. 

Washington S.A. S.A. Included in medical. S.A., S.P.P. S.A., S.P.P.

West Virginia O.P. O.P. O.P. None S.A., O.P.

Wisconsin S.P.P. (e) (e) S.P.P.—depending on legislator's 

accumulative sick leave balance.

S.P.P.—Group term life levels 1 and 2. Accidental death and 

dismemberment insurance (ADDI) are available at 

legislator's expense. 

Wyoming None None None None None

Source : National Conference of State Legislatures, 2016.

Key:

(U) — Unvouchered.

(V) — Vouchered.

O.P.— Optional at legislator's expense.

O.S.B.— Official state or legislative business only.

S.A.— Same as state employees. 

S.P. — State pays full amount.

S.P.P.— State pays portion and legislator pays portion.

Notes:

(e) Wisconsin. Basic and diagnostic dental coverage is available; major dental coverage is available through supplemental plans, which is optional at legislator’s expense. Diagnostic optical coverage is 

available; eye glass and contact lens coverage is available through supplemental vision plans, which is optional at legislator’s expense.

(d) Pennsylvania. Legislators pay 1% of salary toward medical/hospital, dental, vision and prescription benefits.

(c) Ohio. Vision and dental care coverage are available to a member and dependents after the member has completed one year of continuous state service. 

(b) California. Health: The state pays a portion (20% less than the contribution paid for state managerial employees); legislators pay a portion. Dental: Legislators pay 10% of the basic dental premium; 

enhanced coverage is available at an additional cost to the member. Vision: Legislators pay 10% of the basic vision premium; enhanced coverage is available at an additional cost to the member.

(a) Arkansas: Health: The state pays $410 monthly; legislators pay the balance depending on the plan chosen. Vision: Vision screening with co-pay, once/2-y with health plan; additional coverage optional 

at legislator's expense.
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