Frequently Asked Questions for Medication Aide Certified

The Tennessee General Assembly passed a bill signed into law as Tennessee Code Annotated §63-7-
127, Public Acts of 2009, creating a Medication Aide Certified (MAC) program under the Board of
Nursing. The board office will accept applications for approval of MAC training programs beginning
October 12, 2012.

1. What are the qualifications to become a MAC?

e Be at least eighteen (18) years of age and have completed the twelfth grade or its equivalent or
has passed the test for/received a GED (e) (1) (2)

e One year of current full time experience as a certified nurse aide (nursing home or assisted
living) (e)(3)

e Completion of a course of instruction provided by a training program approved by the
Tennessee Board of Nursing (75 hours of instruction) (i)(2)(A)

e Passing score on a standardized computerized test administered by a test agency separate from
the Board. (e)(5)

e Pass a nationwide criminal background check using the State of Tennessee’s vendor
Rule 1000-05-.03(2)(b)(7) TCA 63-7-1217 (h)(B)

2. What will a MAC need to maintain certification as a medication aide?

e Renew certificate on the schedule set by the Board of Nursing (every 2 years) (g)

e Attend and document required continuing education (6 hours per year) (g)

e Maintain knowledge of and comply with all the laws, rules, policies and guidelines that regulate
MAC practice.(H)

3. How do I become a medication aide certified (MAC) in Tennessee?
See Qualifications.

e Alist of approved MAC training programs will be posted on this site after the program is
approved by the Board of Nursing.

e No MAC training programs are currently approved.

4. What is needed to begin a MAC training program?

e The MAC School Application may be found on this website October 12, 2012, under
applications.

e Administrative Rules of the Board of Nursing 1000-05-.07 Training Programs.

e The board will consider requests for MAC training programs at its quarterly meetings.

e Contact Elizabeth.Lund@tn.gov or Teresa.Phillips@tn.gov for information about beginning a
MAC training program.

Please follow this Website for MAC updates; law, rules and policies, approved
schools, application for certificate and testing information.
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