
MEMORANDUM 

TO:  Tennessee Adult Education 

FROM: Jason C. Beard, Administrator of Adult Education 

DATE:  March 22, 2016 

SUBJECT: 17-Year-Old Students 

Dear Team, 
 

After deeper research regarding the enrollment of a 17-year-old into an Adult Education 
program, I believe the conclusion is much simpler than first imagined.  Basically, the issue is 
divided into two subparts: 1) When a 17-year-old may be enrolled; and 2) When a 17-year-old 
may take the High School Equivalency Exam.  In cooperation with the Tennessee Department of 
Education, we determined that Tennessee law is quite clear on both topics. 
 
When may a 17-year-old be enrolled in Adult Education courses? 
 

The Tennessee Attorney General’s office was asked this very question in June of 2012.  
The Attorney General concluded that enrollment in a state-approved High School Equivalency 
program actually satisfies the compulsory attendance requirement within Tennessee Code 
Annotated. 
 

Tenn. Code Ann. § 49-6-3001 generally requires all children between 6 
and 17 years of age to attend public or nonpublic school.  The pertinent portions 
of Tenn. Code Ann. § 49-6-3001(c)(1) state: 

 
Every parent, guardian or other legal custodian residing within this 
state having control or charge of any child or children between six 
(6) years of age and seventeen (17) years of age, both inclusive, 
shall cause the child or children to attend public or nonpublic 
school, and in event of failure to do so, shall be subject to the 
penalties provided in this part…. 

 
 Tenn. Code Ann. § 49-6-3001(c)(2)(B) provides the following exemption 
to this compulsory school attendance requirement: 

 
Subdivision (c)(1) does not apply to a child who: 
 

…. 



 
(B) Is enrolled and making satisfactory progress in a course 
leading to a [High School Equivalency Diploma] from a state-
approved institution or organization that enrolls a child who is 
under eighteen (18) years of age shall provide a report to the local 
board of education at least three (3) times each year relative to the 
progress of all such persons under eighteen (18) years of age.  If 
the local board of education determines any child under eighteen 
(18) years of age is not making satisfactory progress, then the child 
shall be subject to subdivision (c)(1);… 

 
 Thus Tenn. Code Ann. § 49-6-3001(c)(2)(B) specifically establishes an 
exception to the compulsory attendance requirement where a student is enrolled 
and making satisfactory progress, as determined by the local board of education, 
in a course leading to a [High School Equivalency Diploma] from a state-
approved institution or organization. 

 
Tenn. Att’y Gen. Op. No. 12-63. 
 
 Therefore, a 17-year-old student may satisfy the statutory compulsory attendance 
requirement through attendance at one of the state’s Adult Education programs.  This does NOT 
require the local school district to enroll a previously unenrolled student just to then drop said 
student in order for them to attend High School Equivalency courses.  The only requirement is 
that the Adult Education program provide a progress report to the local board of education (in the 
county where the student resides while attending the Adult Education program) at least three (3) 
times per year so long as the student is under the age of 18. 
 
When may a 17-year-old take the High School Equivalency Exam? 
 
 This may very well be the genesis of most of the confusion regarding this issue.  While 
the Director/Superintendent of schools does not have to sign off on a student in order for him/her 
to attend High School Equivalency courses, he/she is required to provide a recommendation for 
any student under 18 to take the High School Equivalency Exam. 
 

A candidate must be eighteen (18) years of age before being eligible to take the 
[High School Equivalency Exam].  A (17) [sic] year old may be allowed to take 
the examination upon the recommendation of the local school superintendent.  
The superintendent may require written documentation from the applicant to 
support this recommendation.  This rule shall not be used to circumvent 
participation in the regular high school program. 



Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0520-01-03-.06(6)(c). 
 
Conclusion: 
 
 Therefore, in accordance with the information above, a 17-year-old may enroll in an 
Adult Education program without the requirement that the local school district first enroll and 
drop said student.  The policy going forward will be that a 17-year-old may be enrolled in an 
Adult Education program with documentation from the Director/Superintendent of Schools 
recommending the student for the High School Equivalency Exam.  While this recommendation 
is not required for enrollment under the law, we believe it is prudent to obtain this document 
prior to enrollment to ensure that we are not serving a student who may not be allowed to take 
the High School Equivalency Exam.  We have developed a form attached hereto for the 
Director/Superintendent of Schools to sign providing this recommendation.  This form does 
NOT require or constitute enrollment or withdrawal of the student from the local school district. 
 
 Further, all 17-year-old students enrolled under the policy above must provide a progress 
report at least three (3) times per year to the local board of education.  A form has been 
developed and attached hereto that will be used by the local Adult Education program to satisfy 
the legal requirement of a progress report. 
 
Best Regards, 

 

Jason C. Beard 
Administrator of Adult Education 
Dept. of Labor & Workforce Development 
 
 


