Professional Privilege Tax

by Christy Allen, Chief Counsel
Regulatory Boards

In 1992, the General Assembly of the State of
Tennessee declared that engaging in certain
vocations,  professions, businesses and
occupations was a privilege taxable by the state.
Governor Ned McWherter then signed into law
the Professional Privilege Tax, and the
Department of Revenue began collecting the tax
from persons engaged in the professions
determined to be taxable by the General
Assembly. A number of professionals in
Tennessee are subject to the tax, including
accountants, attorneys, physicians, real estate
brokers, securities broker-dealers and a number
of other licensed professionals. In 2002, the
General Assembly raised the amount of the
annual tax from $200 to $400. In addition, full-
time State of Tennessee employees were
exempted from the tax (2002 Tenn. Pub. Acts
856, § 7).

All pharmacists licensed in Tennessee and in
active practice as of June 1 in a given year are
required by State law to pay to the State of
Tennessee a professional privilege tax in the
amount of $400. The tax is collected by the
Commissioner of Revenue, and all monies
collected thereunder are deposited in the
general fund. This law applies to all persons
licensed to practice the profession of Pharmacy
as of June 1st of that year, whether or not they
are Tennessee residents.

Under applicable law and pursuant to a Board
policy, certain licensees may qualify for
inactive/retired status for the purpose of claiming
an exemption from the tax. A licensee who does
not engage in any activity constituting the
practice of pharmacy may claim inactive/retired
status by filing a written request on a notarized
form provided by the board to that effect with the
Board. Once the request establishing
inactive/retired status is acknowledged and
approved by the Board, the licensee should
notify the Department of Revenue of his or her
inactive/retired status. A licensee may return to
active status by first notifying the Board. The
Board will also file with the Department of
Revenue all the requests for inactive/retired
status which it receives prior to the June 1
deadline.

In claiming inactive/retired status, the licensee
should be aware of a number of factors. In order
to qualify for exemption from the tax, the

licensee must claim inactive/retired status prior
to June 1; a return to active status at any time
during the year will render the licensee subject
to the tax. Practice includes the public use of the
littes “pharmacist, Registered Pharmacist,
Doctor of Pharmacy” or any other title implying
that the individual is a pharmacist and any offer
to render any services defined as the Practice of
Pharmacy In this state.

If a licensee claims inactive/retired status for the
purpose of avoiding the professional privilege
tax and thereafter continues to engage In the
active practice or any activity construed by the
Board to be active practice, that licensee may be
found guilty of misconduct and be subject to
disciplinary action, which could include the
assessment of substantial civil penalties and/or
the suspension or revocation of the licensee's
certificate of registration.

A licensee claiming inactive/retired status is still
subject to the biennial renewal fee of his or her
certificate and will continue to receive the
renewal notifications.

The request form for inactive status is available
from the Board office at 615-741-2718.

For questions regarding the tax, registrants may
contact the Department of Revenue . Their
website is located at www.stale In.usfrevenue, or
Taxpayer Services Division at 800-342-1003 (in-
state only) or 615-253-0600,



