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Constitutionality of Public Chapter 128

QUESTIONS

1. May a defendant charged with misdemeanor assault in a domestic violence
case be released upon a pre-set bond schedule set by the general sessions or criminal court judges
which schedule is kept at the jail? If the answer is “no,” then in a county which has such pre-set
bonds for violent, but not domestic offenders, is holding persons accused of misdemeanor domestic
assault without bond a violation of equal protection or due process?

2. Does Public Chapter 128 (1999) mandate that an individual bond
determination be made within 12 hours of arrest for domestic violence?

3. Does holding a misdemeanor arrestee without bond for more than 48 hours,
because of the absence of a magistrate to set bond, violate the United States and Tennessee
Constitutions?

OPINIONS

1. A defendant who is arrested for any criminal offense defined in Title 39,
Chapter 13, in which the alleged victim of the offense is a family or household member as defined
in Tenn. Code Ann. §36-3-601 shall not be released on bond within 12 hours of such arrest, whether
by “pre-set bond schedule” or otherwise, unless a determination has been made by a magistrate, or
other authorized official, that he is not a threat to the alleged victim.

2. No, Public Chapter 128 does not mandate that an individual bond
determination be made within 12 hours.

3. Yes, holding a defendant for more than 48 hours without bond because of the
absence of a magistrate to make a probable cause determination, absent a bona fide emergency or
other extraordinary circumstance, violates the United States Constitution.



ANALYSIS

Public Chapter 128 provides in pertinent part:

Tennessee Code Annotated 8§40-11-150, is amended by adding the
following as a new, appropriately designated subsection:

Any offender arrested for any criminal offense defined
in Title 39, Chapter 13, in which the alleged victim is
a family or household member shall not be released
within twelve (12) hours of such arrest if the
magistrate or other official duly authorized to release
such offender finds that such offender is a threat to
alleged victim. Such official may, however, release
the accused in less than twelve (12) hours if the
official determines that sufficient time has or will
have elapsed for the victim to be protected.

1. Based on the language of Public Chapter 128, a defendant charged with a
criminal offense defined in Title 39, Chapter 13, in which the alleged victim is a family or household
member, may not be released within 12 hours of his arrest absent a determination by a magistrate,
or other authorized individual, that the offender is not a threat to the alleged victim. Therefore, a
defendant may not be released upon a “pre-set bond schedule” within 12 hours unless such a finding
is made.* If the defendant is not able to be released within 12 hours on a “pre-set bond schedule”
because of the absence of a magistrate or other authorized person to make a finding regarding the
threat posed by the offender, he may be released after the 12 hours has elapsed. Holding defendants
charged with domestic violence for 12 hours prior to releasing them on bond does not violate equal
protection and is otherwise constitutionally permissible. See Op. Tenn. Atty. Gen. No. 97-069 (May
12, 1997) (copy attached).

2. Public Chapter 128 does not mandate that an initial appearance hearing be
held within 12 hours. It only requires that a magistrate or other authorized official determine
whether the offender is a threat to the alleged victim if an initial appearance hearing is held within
12 hours.

3. The Fourth Amendment requires that a judicial determination of probable
cause must be made within 48 hours of arrest, absent a bona fide emergency or other extraordinary
circumstance. County of Riverside v. McLaughlin, 500 U.S. 44, 114 L.Ed.2d 49, 111 S.Ct. 1161
(1991). Therefore, holding a defendant without bond for more than 48 hours because of the absence

This office was not asked, nor does it take a position herein, whether “pre-set bond schedules” comply with
the mandates of the “Release from Custody and Bail Reform Act of 1978,” Tenn. Code Ann. § 40-11-101 et seq.
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of a magistrate to preside at the defendant’s initial appearance hearing violates the constitution.?
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2Nothing in Public Chapter 128 contemplates holding an offender for more than 48 hours without setting bond
or making a probable cause determination.



